My Thursday Favorites #2.06 Contest Entry – My Favorite Beach

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

The lower half of my obese body is in this photo at what used to be my hometown beach. I lived there for 20 years.

oqy135a9ln.png

I tried to walk at the beach as often as I could. It was not an easy walk when I was morbidly obese.

I had to drive the few blocks from home for most of the time I lived there. The beach is wide and just getting to the water and back was hard enough.

I would never have the energy to walk back to the house after that.

I asked my son to get a side shot here so I could see how fat I was. This was in 2008 when I was trying and failing to lose weight.

btn13co2q5.jpg

You can see how wide the beach is here. I am not yet near the water in this pic. The soft sand was hard to walk on and I would have to pause often to catch my breath.

This is me pausing with a fog and cool rainbow happening. Shirt Size 4XL.

npn7bkw35r.png

The beach became a part of my workout a few months after I started working with a fitness trainer. I got healthy enough to walk to and from the beach while also walking on it.

This was when I started the dune walking - still about 60 pounds overweight. The dunes I'm on were my gym at this time.

cu4w93w5zl.jpg

The dunes are man made and you can walk on them. The Navy trains on them by running with packs on their backs and I was so proud to be in there too.

Here is what the dunes look like from the air:

d0kx10cfwj.png

Here's the guy that made them. He's retired now, so I don't know if they are being kept up.

s751uyavcb.png

It was his job to get kelp off the beach and he took it upon himself to spell out the name of the town in dunes.

This is why you are allowed to walk on them - they are not natural.

Just beautiful.

akru66tw48.jpg

Coronado Sand Dune’s Secret Message

My fat self would never consider to go into the dunes. They are higher and steeper than they look. So I only did this for the last couple years I lived there.

I got some tourists to take this photo when I was about 20 pounds away from my goal weight.

h6k7dc61wd.png

My great workouts helped me turn into this lady celebrating a year of fitness training on December 5, 2011. I was at my goal weight and swimming 3X a week like a champ. What better way to celebrate than in a hot tub with the beach behind.

n5k87xu6ta.jpg

My post today is for the weekly Thursday Favorites Contest by @marblely for ccc. Tell us about your favorite beach, and you can enter too!

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Think you are too old, too sick or too far gone to ever lose weight?

You can do it, and I will be glad to help. Ask me and I will teach you what worked for me.

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

For those of you with care and concern about my current struggle to pay rent, please know I am still working it and an update post will be up soon. I am so grateful to you all for your incredible support.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Such an inspiring post @fitunfunfood! It is amazing to see how much you have achieved through the years on the beach that you love :) The beach is beautiful! And so motivating to be able to walk and jog there and the last photo is perfect to celebrate your 1 year of fitness training :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83