I Wonder Why Most People Don't Learn🤔🤔🤔

in #esteem6 years ago

Hello Steemians. Greetings.

I really wonder why some people are so dogmatic that it is almost impossible for them to learn a new thing and begin to live in accordance with it. Even you cite all the record breaking scientific evident in order to convince them, they still find mammoth of reasons not to yield to your advice.

Haha... You may wonder why I am upto in this unusual rambling, right?

ignorance-582607_12801.jpg
[Source: pixabay. CC0 licensed]

Well I was in @stemng discord room when a fellow steemian announced of the death of a woman alongside her five children following the inhalation of exhaust fumes from a generator. I was really saddened, and felt very sorry over the unfortunate incident.

Though I was saddened by such an occurrence, it wasn't really a surprise to me, taking account of my experiences within my vicinity. On several occasions, I had had to knock on people's doors to tell them to face the exhaust of their electrical generators away from their windows, passages and doors. Unfortunately, most times instead of getting praises, I get vilifications engaging in this act of community service. Not that I'd knock on any house I see but houses of people who know me; mostly people who live in the same street with me.

The rudeness of responses I do get while educating folks on the dangers of inhaling exhaust fumes, is very shocking. Some would tell you it's not their portion to die from exhaust fumes. Some would question if you are actually wishing their family death. Others would tell you their family is covered by the blood of Jesus, that untimely death is not for children of God. And at end, you would just appear stupid. This has been my experience.

tombstone-151525_1280.png
[Source: pixabay. CC0 licensed]

So when I heard about the death of the woman and her children on the floor of @stemng chat room today, the first thing I uttered was "It really beat my imagination why some folks would refuse to listen and instead prefer to wallow and die in their ignorance". And people was surprised with one person arguing that there is no one who doesn't know the dangers of inhaling exhaust fumes.

I laughed at that and told the guy that unless he is not living in Nigeria, perhaps that was why such statement should come from him. I know my people; most of them are unyielding when it comes to learning certain things. Unfortunately, such ignorance sometimes doesn't give one a second chance at redemption; such as this tragedy. REST IN PEACE to the dead. Sad, though.

Yours truly,
@eurogee

Sort:  

Being ignorant is not so bad.
Being ignorant and stubborn is the definition of stupidity.

Very sad story.

That's just the truth. Thank you

A stubborn housefly follows the corpse to the grave.

Your duty is to tell them

Its up to them to live with it or not

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23