500 SP Milestone

in #esteem6 years ago

Last week I finally pulled the trigger on a decision I had been contemplating for a while now.

I used some of my fiat to purchase some LTC and then move it into STEEM. I would like to thank @daan, @slobberchops, and @exyle for setting the example of what truly investing in this blockchain means.

The price of STEEM has been up and down since then, but I don't regret it at all. It feels good to know that I am invested in something that has become a bigger part of my life lately.

I also have a lot of faith that the STEEM blockchain is going to continue growing and even though things haven't looked great at the beginning of 2018, we have some exciting years ahead of us.

Others that have been in crypto currency much longer than I have can probably speak to this.

The Slider!

For me though, the most exciting part of topping 500 SP is getting the voting slider. I had used the voting slider built into Steemplus in the past, but I had no idea how absolutely awesome the built in vote slider could be!

Over the past month or so I have been struggling to upvote the comments people leave on my posts more. I appreciate them taking the time to view my posts and I want to reward them for showing that they care.

This has been hard before the slider though because my only option was to upvote comments at 100%. This can be a real killer to your Voting Power over time. With the slider, I can now give people a decent upvote on their comment while still maintaining an acceptable range on my VP.

The other thing I am really excited about is I now feel I have enough SP that I can start delegating. I have already delegated 15 SP to @helpie. Although I know it isn't a ton, @helpie has been a really great community to be part of. I appreciate everything they have done for me.

In the future I hope to also delegate some SP to @adsactly, and @steemrepair. Two other communities that have been a great help to me.

Finally, if you have been on the fence about buying Steem, I think now is a great time to bite the bullet and do it. I have some additional LTC that I am waiting to recover a little bit and then I am going to probably purchase some more STEEM.

The road to 500 SP can be hard, but every advantage you can take to get there is totally worth it!

Steem on friends!

This post was written with the Esteem desktop app.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Do you know about the .02 payout threshold? Your .01 solo votes are worthless if people don't use @dustsweeper.

Good point. I guess I should stop upvoting comments...😛

I do a lot of 1% upvotes when I am voting below the threshold. I usually try and do at least 10% though for the people who I know use @dustsweeper.

I understand what you are saying. I hadn't really thought of it. I like people to feel that I appreciate them though. Greetings from 75 North.

I think that investing a bit in steemit is not a bad idea, I've done that myself within my limited means.

Yeah, I got thinking about it the other day and I said to myself... "my LTC is just sitting there waiting for the market to turn, why not convert it to STEEM and at least let it work for me and others.

Yeah, that makes sense to me.

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Congrats on investing and hitting 500SP, I remember when I made that milestone I was so proud of myself LOL

I think it is a good time to invest I too believe in Steem and feel it will rise again

I hope you are right! It would be nice to see it back up where it was when I joined. Thanks for the comment!

@bozz Yeah right now I would be happy if it could just get over $1 and stay above 1 :)

For sure 😁

Awesome work man!! I DREAM of using that voting slider; I actually have the ability to use it because I recently started using steempeak.com (you should check it out if you haven't, it's fucking awesome), but my votes so small that anything under 100% from me is less than a cent; so I haven't really used it yet. I can't wait to hit 500 though, so that I finally feel like my vote's at least worth enough to productively use the slider!

Here's to the future! Cheers!

Keep going, you will get there. I will check out steempeak tomorrow when I get a chance. Thanks for the heads up!

Good for you! It's such a good time to invest, and if more Steemians did this, there would be a better balance between minnows, dolphins and whales. Steemit was designed to benefit stakeholders. I invested some fiat a few weeks ago, and I also bought in via Litecoin, as it's so much faster to exchange than Bitcoin, and the fees are much lower.

I agree! I am a big supporter of litecoin. It is really my currency of choice for most transactions.

I just made the same commitment a few days ago, but only 200 SP. On hols and not working for the next year, and have to be careful with my finances.

Finally I know what it feels like to upvote someone and it actually gives them something for their content (even though is not much).

For sure! It is always nice to give back to others. I am really excited about what I can do for other people moving forward. Congrats on the investment!

I use to think a slider was a Dance move but ever since I got it here My life changed 😉

It is truly amazing!

But its still hard work now you have to figure Our who you are giving what

For sure!

I did exactly the same. Bought LTC, then SP and STEEM

Awesome! It is a great time to do it. Congrats on your acquisition!

Great post! I would love to get to that level.

Keep working and saving! It is a lot of work, but very rewarding.

I think you did good by investing. On the long run the steem blockchain will be great. I totally agree when you say steemit is becoming a part of life, I spent a ton of time on the platform with posting and reading ,but its great every single minute. Thanks to our mutual friend @steevc I also am able to use the slider to divide my upvotes among some great posts without directly draining my votingpower. Glad to hear your for the long time :) enjoying the interaction !!

Thanks! I always enjoy reading your posts as well. I should be back in my office tomorrow and will get caught up on what you were up to over the weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36