#ulog COMEDY OPEN MIC ROUND 19 | Phobia from the high angle

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

image building

Once upon a time, a person told me that I must be suffering from an acrophobia or the extreme fear of heights, and then the same person saw me hanging off of the cliff headlong like a monkey with a complete absence of any distress.

Nope, I didn't do this because I wanted to prove anything, I simply do not have fear of the tall trees of cliffs.

In fact, I feel no fear of depths either, so if you want to drop yourself in a sinkhole beyond a border of a visible light, here I am, let's party.

Because of this, many of my friends and family believed that I am pretending to be afraid, but it is not the case. You see, I am only afraid of the human-made tall objects.

Yes, this is very much possible, and I only have what is called a natural fear of falling, which is far away from any fear of heights, but I have something else that is very annoying.

It is a phobia - sort of - but I have the ability to plug out my emotions so I can prevail and be immune on this issue for a limited amount of time. Also, if I practice, the fear will be lesser or will disappear almost completely if I spend enough time ... for example hanging off of the skyscraper.
Headlong of course.

Situations in which I usually disengage that part of my paranoia infused brain are the ones when I have to do something, otherwise, I would die of fear by stepping on a coconut - because it is too high.

Once I climbed - successfully - up the roof around 30 times because I had to. My brother in law, who has a real full-blown fear of heights, was below on a floor level ...praying.

I also don't feel comfortable being on the ladder, climbing a rope, windows or chairs, because I always think something will snap or break.

I have something that is called the Batophobia, an irrational fear of tall buildings or any artificial constructions - because, in essence, I do not believe that it is constructed in a safe way. Somebody must screw up something and it will go off in an exact moment when I step on it...

The cliffs and tall trees are in no way safer, but for some reason, I experience this unsafe freaky feeling only on the artificial constructions, and I see all the tall buildings, bridges and similar - as a perfect spot for the scenario from hell.

I plot all kind of the sincerely insane situations and escape routes in case of the earthquake, structural instability or even a possible alien invasion - in order to clearly outline my safe departure from the unthinkably unsafe buildings, subways or the bridges.

In a combination of fire, flood or the meteorite shower my imagination can give me a script for the movie serial, and I will still have the epic momentum to deliver more.

Image attribution:
Source - Pexels - Free for personal and commercial use


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!



Sort:  

Hi, you need to nominate two people!

AW, great I nominate @kkkkkl and @aaarif .

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

http://sheknowsfinance.com/
check out mywawavisit survey and win cash prize

i too afraid of heights but it depend on some situations. If i climb on a high raised building's roof with small height boundary then i afraid to look at the bottom but at the same time if i climb on same height and have high boundary with glass then i don't afraid. So i guess this is problem in my mind.

For what it's worth, I feel exactly the same way about condoms.

loved it!

because, in essence, I do not believe that it is constructed in a safe way. Somebody must screw up something and it will go off in an exact moment when I step on it

you ain't alone ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05