Visions - Revelations

in #esteem5 years ago

Greetings to everyone, the following story was inspired by the digital art of @xpilar, I invite you to visit his blog. The picture that motivated this story is the following.



Source

Visions

Revelations

-PATRICIA, what is Fenrir? -asked Lucian, while the wet nurse watched the neurological scan.

PATRICIA's peculiar face sketched a strange grimace, which Lucian deduced expressed consternation -. Fenrir is a beast of the ancient Nordic mythology of the Earth- she said, maintaining her expression that Lucian was almost comic. But I don't think that's what you mean.

-It's something I saw in one of my dreams, -said Lucian -. In it, I saw that the badge of one of the wet nurses said Fenrir instead of Perseus, does that mean anything?

-Our colony is called Perseus, I suppose it refers to a colony called Fenrir, but I don't know anything beyond what happens in Perseus, my database is fundamentally medical and I don't have access to that kind of data, - replied PATRICIA, changing the expression on her face to the usual one -. Perhaps you would ask your tutor at the institute or go directly to the IA in the central nucleus, it is certain that, if there is another colony called Fenrir, she must know.

The central nucleus of the colony was not a site frequented by the children of the colony, only the maintenance robots and those wet nurses who required some kind of service, came to this site. Lusian, entered and a few meters from the threshold curved, in the middle of the corridor, a console of which a head was projected in the middle of the air.

-Hello Lucian, pleased to see you here, -said the inexpressive face of the floating head.

Lucian took a slight leap back, victim of the impression made by the strange talking head, which called him by his name.

-Who are you, how do you know my name? -asked the surprised boy.

-I'm a representation of HERBERT, the old Perseus ship monitor and I'm the AI interface for humans and I know each and every child settler, besides being aware of everything that happens in the colony, that's a part of my job.

-Waaooo, you're amazing HERBERT, -said Lucian, with an expression of surprise on his face -. PATRICIA, the nurse at the dispensary, told me to come and ask you something about my dreams.

-I know, you came to ask about Fenrir, as I told you, knowing everything that happens in the colony is part of my job, - replied HERBERT -. Fenrir is another colonizing ship, which unlike Perseus whose course was oriented from the Earth towards the galactic halo, its route led it in the direction of the bulb in the center of the galaxy.

-That is to say, there are other colonies - asked Lucian surprised.

-Not exactly, I know it's new information for you, but our program indicated that we should let them know in their last year of academia - explained HERBERT, surprisingly their expression seemed more human than normal, like the one who takes a weight off himself -. The Perseus, along with one hundred and forty-nine other ships, left the Perseus space station on Earth with different destinations, 4855 years ago, with the purpose of colonizing different worlds, but during our voyage, many things happened on Earth and all humans there became extinct, and as far as we know you are the only humans left alive.

-And the other colony ships, what about them, shouldn't there be a hundred and fifty colonies, - Lucian asks, impressed by HERBERT's words.

-We don't know that, we don't have any news of other colonies, as far as we know, you are the only humans that exist, you are the only survivors of the species.

-I think we're not, I'm sure the Fenrir colony exists too, but everyone there is dying.

Text of @amart29 Barcelona, Venezuela, September 2019

Other stories from the series The Age of Perseus

I can only thank @xpilar for allowing me to use his digital art in my publication and for motivating my creation. Thank you very much @xpilar

Thank you all for visiting my publication, I hope your comments and I appreciate your support, until next time




Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06