You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Lemongrass Infused Oil - A Failed Experiment

in #essentialoils7 years ago

Did you remember to shake the jar every day to help disperse the herbs and oils?

When I make mine, I pick up the jar and kind of roll it around a little.
I've made basil, oregano and dill infused oils- never had that problem. Unless the freezing temps and oil congealing somehow transformed the chemistry of the final product.

Sort:  

I barely remembered the jar was out there once or twice a month, let alone every day! Haha! Next time I'll chop them finer and remember to shake the jar at least once a day. Do you recommend direct sunlight or do you think placing the jar close to our wood stove would have the same effect?

I haven't done direct sunlight. A sunny area is all I did- window sill. I have read conflicting articles. Some say dark area, some say sunny area...
To me the sunny area helps to warm up the oil and extract more flavor then to store you would want a darker area (cupboard). That's where I store mine- cupboard next to pantry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80