You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proof of Good Governance

in #eos6 years ago

SMT's are not going to solve the issues caused by the distribution of Steem. Look at the mess being made by the terror of incompetent, absent or psychopathic whales already. Good whales simply can't keep up. You are only going to compound the effects and potential for harm by building out the steem economy and increasing its complexity on such a terrible foundation. Fix the distribution. We need thousands of engaged whales and zero mega-whales. Power within the Steem economy needs much more balance. Is anything being done? Is there any recognition of this? This economy should be on a journey to being for everyone or it's for no-one. Can you imagine Steem becoming a globally accepted unit of exchange, store of value etc with some of today's whales holding the power they will have, wielding it as they have been? No frickin way bud. Zero chance. All you'll end up with is a fancy feudal-like system. Please tell me how you control the abuse and how long it will take to implement.

Sort:  

I read your comment thoroughly ned, thank you. I believe I just about understand what you are hoping to implement with your scrabble analogy. The issue (and I recognise that I am not an expert, far from it) I have is if you successfully create colonies of value within the steem network that can shut out the stake weighting of the supra-token, steem, then doesn't that challenge the value and validity of steem? Why would the majority of steemians even use steem if it were possible for a different token to supplant steem because it acted potentially more fairly and in their interests? Perhaps I just don't comprehend the way SMT's are deployed and operate within Steem. I still believe the bad distribution of steem will continue to negatively affect everything built upon it. A bad whale that is blocked from every other community based around an SMT will still continue to be able to access the reward pool according to the stake weighting.....correct?

@ned I love your view on things like playing a game. But scrabble? ;-) I was surprised to see on the live communitys that people still play counterstrike and not because it works on all computers like as I was 14 :-D Short rounds, benefits in the long run - 2 partys, fast and easy even for beginners that gain in skill, not in time of being there in the community.
I went in here active a few days ago and I feel all the time as a new guy in a company after 3.5 years of training and it seems like I need or have to "dig into whale asses" to evolve in here not for being diligent or hard work. (In facebook I felt way better at the start) I understand that money gives power but if it is possible what you want to change that only "diggers" could rise up great content creators will pass over time. So if I understand you right, you want to strengthen the fundamental players and creators. That is only possible to share or reduce the power of the big players and has to be done to give this community a future (not by utilizing one new platform after another when the fundamental basement (steemit.com) is rotten)
Thanks for your effort - I hope it pays out for you and the whole community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29