"Always Look For The Fool In The Deal" | A Quote Every Entrepreneur Can Learn From

in #entrepreneurship6 years ago (edited)

You might know Mark Cuban from Shark Tank or for owning the Dallas Mavericks. His business acumen is quite impressive. When it comes to making deals and doing business he said:

“Always look for the fool in the deal. If you don’t find one, it’s you.”
- Mark Cuban

I am in agreement with Cuban, and I think every entrepreneur should heed his advice. Do plenty of research before going into business with others. Find out what the motivations are, both yours and theirs. 

Be smart and think before you act. Don't be the fool in the deal. 👍

 Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.  

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com  
My DTube: d.tube/#!/c/slickwilly
Affiliated Steemit Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz & @trueliberty  

My Previous Post  👉 The Forbidden City Is A Breathtaking Palace Complex Used By The Emperors Of China

Sort:  

While I certainly agree people should be cautious and do their research, I strongly disagree with this statement. Saying every deal involves a fool implies a zero-sum perspective, but the reality is that many deals truly serve the interests of all parties involved.

@troglodactyl Thanks for the additional perspective. I appreciate it.

Your point is definitely valid. The quote does imply that there is always a fool, which is not true. But I still like the quote and I think a deal can have a fool and not be zero-sum. The fool can get value, maybe just not the most value. Or maybe the fool doesn't even need the value from the deal. An elephant for a nickel isn't a great deal if you don't need an elephant.

I think the quote mostly serves as a caution for those that might get swindled.

A better version could be: " Always look for a fool in the deal. If you don't find one, it might be you."

Great words those are thanks for sharing it with us

Research before planning and starting bussiness is a back bone of bussiness!
If you will not do proper research u cAn't run a successful bussiness!
Know the pros and cones and then do hard work to establish a bussiness!

Very true friend ... Business is not for everyone. It is a mental game and power.

Well yes that is indeed true .That is what make him success in along the way of his life.

Will sure keep the words in mind !

you are right @slickwilly right words
we should be look for that man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25