The Guernsey Literary & Potato peel pie Society

in #english6 years ago

Hello Steemians! Today I bring you a somewhat different publication... Today I'm not going to tell you about any book, but rather about a film... which is about books! Hahaha.

One of these past days I saw the film "The Guernsey Literary & Potato peel pie Society", which is inspired by the book with the same name, written by Mary Ann Shaffer, and stars Lily James, Michiel Huisman, Glen Powel, Jessica Brown Finlay, Matthew Goode, Tom Courtenay and Penelope Wilton.

Source

At first, the trailer of the film caused me quite a bit of curiosity precisely because it is related to books, writers and literature, so I decided to watch the whole film.

The film tells the story of Juliet Ashton, a London writer who is at a "writer's break" and urgently needs to write a new book to sell. In that she begins to correspond with a man who is part of the "Guernsey Literary & Potato peel pie Society ", an island that was invaded by Nazi Germany during World War II. And it is precisely because of the war that some habitants of Guernsey create the society, in order to be able to meet without the Nazis suspecting anything. From this exchange of letters, Juliet Ashton feels the need to travel to the island and write about this small reading club. However, once Juliet knows the members of this club she will discover the secret that they all hide.

It's a historical drama with touches of humour (which suit the film very well) and which shows a great love for literature, which is why certain scenes were quite "relatable" to me. It's very entertaining and has some very endearing characters and really comic scenes. However, I thought it was a film in which the characters acted in a way that was quite predictable, without offering anything new. On top of that, it seems to me that some of the situations that occur at the end of the film are a little out of line with the course of the whole film... Come on, some situations seemed a little "forced" to me, so to speak.

In spite of that, I think it's a very nice film and it tells a rather endearing story, as well as being related to books (which I love) and World War II, which is a subject that especially catches my attention. A British drama told in a very elegant way.

Score:


I hope you liked this review somewhat differently! Have you seen this film or have you read the book it was inspired by? Tell me in the comments down below!


If you've come this far, I just wanted to tell you that I now have an Instagram account dedicated to the blog. That's right, my friends, now you can be on the watch when I upload a new publication, accompanied by some photos. Follow me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23