The Age Old? What's Good Content & At What Frequency Can It Be Whipped Up?

in #engagement5 years ago

I recently wrote a provocative comment in a weekly post that lures in the more active and gregarious steemians.

My point was simple and I'll attempt to succinctly paraphrase myself. Basically, I was expressing that for my tastes i find it unlikely someone posting more than 1.5 times a day on average is producing what I deem to be high quality. Furthermore, if one is posting multiple times a day and spending a good deal of time on their content there is little chance they'll have the time and energy to engage in ways that are beyond steem small talk.. I also noted that time spent on a post is not a prerequisite to quality but time spent behind the scenes would likely facilitate this ability to produce a post within minutes versus hours.. An example would be an original song or even a vlog, anything that requires a skill set beyond mashing a keyboard and hitting post.

Not surprisingly I didn't get but one bite on my unintentionally contentious comment.. I was and am merely letting it be known what my perspectives are. It's not an attack or anything personal and thus i hope my response adequately demonstrates my point.

I was told I was "mis-guided" and need only follow the top tier steemians to "de-bunk" my claims that were seemingly dismissed as coming from an uninformed steemian.

Uninformed is my word which in my humble opinion sums up the rebuttal. Well, I have been here almost a year and I'm hyper aware of who does what and how often they do it. It's kind of a small fishbowl if I'm being honest.

Anyhoo, without further adieu is my reply to the assertion that I'm not steeming with the right people in high places..

That's
Tcompletely different approach and there's certainly room for that here. I'm not into the contests or challenges myself and seek out content that is a bit more intimate, individual, and maybe even daring.

Perhaps our interests and expectations are vastly different which is fine. If you think my perspective is misguided I can respect that being that you put so much time and energy into the brand of steem you enjoy, but I think it's more to do with different strokes for different folks.

I'm seeking the unique, avant garde, forms of expression via written word, art, music, film, comedy, satire, or personal insights that are illuminating and world bridging. In my humble opinion such art cannot be smashed out multiple times a day without losing its colour and purpose. In this context I enjoy rebellious coffee shop revolutionary revelry that entertains me and drives me to get to the marrow of an existence that won't likely be found in forced exercises that aim to give people a focus.. Not saying I'm some literary marvel or something but if Thoreau were alive and steeming I doubt he would be free writing a contest that uses a word of the day. Monet wouldn't be entering a green themed challenge. Zappa wouldn't be interested in daily covers songs on a 4 string beachy instrument..

We are just steeming from different places that's all..

Something weird is happening with the pasting but the first sentence should read. That's a completely different approach

Maybe being a mobile content producer has its limitations but at least I'm attempting to up the ante here as far as content goes..

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Crikey, me aul feed is empty enough these days without looking for the unique and avant-garde;)

Auld lang syne

I definitely know it's a big ask and of course I realise my expectations are way too high..

Essentially what I'm saying is I'm mostly bored by the majority of content here and see a reflection of the real world here more than anything game changing or innovative..

I just awoke from a dystopian dream where I had somehow traveled to the future and there's no way I could make a post that would do my dream justice but I could try and it would maybe be more entertaining than the usual stuff..

Steem isn't representing itself as a community of risk takers which in theory we are so I'd like the content to be more than picture of rocks Monday etc..

"Another day, another dollar."
I might turn to overly sarcastic fictitious shit literature. Seems to work great for some of the big willies on the chain.

I once knew a psychopath who had a coffee cup which read:

"If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit."

Like you, I like to put time and effort into what I create. That's not to say I don't make a frustrated shitpost once in a while, because we know I definitely do, but man.. I'm not going to suck ass and pretend to be interested in content that I don't care for, just to fish for a vote.

99% of people have lost their fucking soul.

If Steem tanks, people like us will be the first one's to say "I told ya so.."

It's not rocket science is it, the intrinsic value cannot be held if new users and long time hard working content creators feel so unappreciated and undervalued that they quit. There is that argument of "quality this and quality that.. you must not be doing something right bla bla fucking bla", but yet we want mainstream adoption... Mainstream does not create content that we would consider quality, probably not even close.. So how will this work? hmmm The ADHD induced zombies will spend 5 minutes here and leave the fishbowl, while dedicated steemians like us will watch the water evaporate.

I feel ya on most all of the points but I will admit, I see funny fucking memes on my facebook feed still, I see awesome creative shit on IG everyday that makes me say "damn humans are kind of amazing" I discover videos on YT that I appreciate and add immense value to my life, an example would be Adam Neely Reharmonization of Pop music.

If I'm being honest for me main stream internet still has the internet gold and we have a rich history of the make up girl and I've also seen other wildly successful artists like Chris Dyer come to steem only to die after a few weeks..

I have about 50 friends on my steempeak list most of them create stuff that I appreciate. From my perspective there's not that many undiscovered talents to uncover. If there are 100 solid creators here on a platform that forces content creation on the Michael Bolton loving Normies which it does that makes sense.

Tribes or smts might help this one day but I'm not holding my breath and my GB package I pay for is headed back to big internet to play after I piddle around here for a bit..

"If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit."

This is now my motto

I can reason with a lot of this. My purpose for blogging on STEEM was to get some content online while building a website with a longer-term goal. I thought I could simply hop on here, write a good story and give it to the wind, but it's not so simple. I've only written less than 15 posts and yet I've joined 11 or 12 communities, more than I have tags to add. There's certainly a lot of backscratching you have to do first if you want eyes on your posts.

There are folks who post multiple times a day and I find what you said to ring true. I try and support my peeps found through good content and engagement. I try to only post once a day everyday. Sometimes I catch up on a couple missed days or get a good actifit score with a story worth posting.

I find it hard to support folks who post 3 times a day because I spread my votes out and find that some articles are just thin “armadillo Monday!” type stuff that gets old after a while.

To each their own I suppose but I would suggest using that time to get up and out and living some real life to have stories to tell!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hear hear! I am so glad you brought up the get out and live a little conclusion..

I completely agree and again to each their own.. I use only 10-12 votes a day and small as they are I vote solely on my personal appreciation of the content and nothing more..

Thanks for coming on over Zeke.. And get that car in the yard man! Who the hell leaves their car in a driveway?!? That's just nuts!

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Posting 1.5 times a day? Those are rookie numbers, you need to pump those numbers up! I myself post once a day not because I want to, but because I need to. Lol nobody wants to hear my drivel in real life, they want to hear about the ball game, or what celebrity went into rehab.

My life observations have no place to go apart from steemit. lol It's sad but at least it provides me with a daily outlet and then I can go back to concentrate on the meaningless idiosyncrasy that I call my daily life.

As to cover your point, I'd say the at this point beggars can't be choosers and its the content is not what's best but the best of those who are friends with the biggest and occasionally the best too.

I remember the early days of YouTube where all the videos were utter garbage and then we got people who started to do cool entertaining shit and then it all went to shit again so lol fuckit who knows? Keep producing content people or the NSA and CIA will be out of a job. They need something to monitor #dirtybomb

All very good points and I identify with the need to post once a day.. It's like harm reduction the chances of my ramblings here causing much physical and emotional turmoil is negligible. Whilst out IRL if I went out there without popping off my steem shots first, the repercussions could be catastrophic.

#psychologicalwarfare

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Dude i posted like 5 times today and maybe only one was a shitpost. Numbers don't matter man, only quality!

Great writing though!

Yea there’s truth in that, btw I never used the word shit post. I believe I said “high quality”

In this context I would rank posts as

Superior
High quality
Average quality
Low quality
And finally shit post

I’m not saying anything in respect to your day of posting.

For me personally high quality and superior quality are subjective and I will still maintain I find it unlikely someone can consistently produce something superior more than once or twice a day. I will also say I don’t think I’ve ever seen a single superior level post on steem.

I myself don’t think I’ve ever created anything much above average. For instance today I put some seriously deep thought into my perspective when I could have just posted the image I created. Even this which might be my best post ever is probably slightly above average and for many they would say it’s a load of bullshit and sucks.

But, thanks for the compliment and know that my intention is to one day see a 3 minute video that rivals always Sunny in Philadelphia or futurama or an amazing music video or something that can stand outside of steem as high quality worth paying for content.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09