How to deal with an emergency situation on an elevator

in #emergency7 years ago

ricardo-gomez-angel-263905 2.jpg

This is one that happened to me, and how I dealt with the emergency by gaining control of the situation.

What to do if you are trapped in an elevator with someone screaming

Generally speaking, irrational people are over-reactive when convinced they must meet some need. In this case probably the lady had a fear of free falling.

Being stuck in an elevator on the 15th floor the lady next to me was over-reactive. How? She began to scream we are going to fall! So unnerving her crying and using those words as the last mantra before the great fall.

In this critical moment, I may have over-reacted, however, I saw enough movies to know what to do.

I slapped her. A slight slap in her face and told her to get a hold of herself. It worked she stopped screaming.

In case you are ever stuck in an elevator here is another tip that worked for me. Most elevators have phones nowadays. As I remember this one didn’t.

The two elevator doors were pried open by me and we could clearly see the floor to get off on was about 2 or 3 feet above the elevator floor. We climbed out by stepping a bit higher with the lock on the elevator turned on just in case.

Definition online Overreaction: as a more emotional or forcible response than is justified.

What do you do when someone overacts to what you say?

Depending on whom you are dealing with if you are like a lot of folks you give a reaction back and the fireworks begin.

The thing to do when someone overreacts in everyday situations
The best thing to do when dealing with them is Validate their feelings first. De-escalate rather than escalate. Then make your point says Jay Verkuilen,
in Quora

This is easier said than done at times, there are people that can just rub you the wrong way. Sometimes it is easier to move along and live in peace as there are always going to be differences in opinions.

Image by Ricardo Gomez Angel

All comments and upvotes appreciated

I really appreciate that you took time to look at my little post.

As always @rebeccabe

Sort:  

Lmao... important things to think about! Validate... then deescalate. Seems easy enough right?

right haha!

You are really very strong and courageous because you tested this.Actually ,I can't do it it too hard.

thank you I think life throws a lot of tests at us

I can totally picture this and honestly laughed out loud. the boldness alone would make anybody pause. haha reminds me of the insane dramatic women I once spent wayyyyy too many hours listening to in a holding cell. I wasn't in a position to slap her but god, I wanted to. I spent the entire night talking to her about whatever subject I could think of, otherwise she was screaming nonstop like a fuckin' maniac.

thanks for sharing your story...at the time it is not so funny but in retrospect makes you laugh..haha

There are many occasions where a good slap around the chops can reduce panicky people. They do it all the time in the old movies.
Unfortunately these days we are liable to get arrested or sued so I think it would be wiser to just stand back and let them scream whilst giving them a harsh stare lol.
Great story @rebeccabe

generally in a life situation you do what's needed to survive I know what you mean about people suing today is ridiculous

If i do that, i will be the one with a fear of elevators the next time

lol .. no fear you know what to do

Hehe.. I guess I do

my dear rebecca with be , as always great job thank you very much for sharing these great experiences and these golden advices

you are welcome ... great comment calling me rebecca with be haha

haha lol yes i like calling like that

i think overreaction in such situation only makes matters worse

True and in all fairness she may never have been stuck in an elevator it is scary.

i think being rational and positive in such situations is the way to go

I love this post, especially the part where you slapped her LOL. I believe in a situation like this, an extreme reaction is needed to awake the person from unconscious reaction. What she went through could be a deep fear of falling and therefore triggered panic attack. It's tough to get her calm down when she became the panic itself. I don't think tell her to breathe will work until she's 'wake up'. What an extraordinary experience :)

One I never want to experience again. Back then I rode elevators all day working in a large hospital with many floors.

I'm sure you don't my dear :)

Really great information nice post thanks for sharing sir...resteemed

so nice of you thank you

Practical

that's it .. and you got it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65573.59
ETH 2645.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86