My first watercolor plein air + step-by-step process

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

I want to learn watercolor painting. If someone thinks that Chinese painting is similar to watercolor, it is not so. Learning Chinese painting, I learned the Chinese painting. Materials and methods there are others. I have no artistic knowledge of classical drawing and traditional European painting.

Last weekend I attended a master class in the open air on watercolor painting. I wanted to overcome my fear of this material. The master class was held outdoors, on the Neva river embankment, near the Academy of arts.

The master class was conducted by students of the Academy of arts. It is one of the best institutions of higher education for artists in the country

The weather was gloomy that day. The sky had many gray clouds. All around was grey and somber. Atmospheric!

We sat on folding chairs on the waterfront. Our head teacher Alex tells us the basics of drawing and painting.

Alex invited everyone to choose their own story of the future picture.

The first type - a view of the bridge and St. Isaac's Cathedral. I wanted to choose him first. And then I thought I was too familiar. I changed my mind.

The second-a view of the opposite Bank of the river and the white Church. I didn't like this view.

And the third-a view of the shipyard, with construction cranes. I chose him...

First drawing with a pencil. I was scared to start. I'm not afraid to draw Chinese drawings without any sketches, and here I was confused and did not know where to start. It turned out that my vision is not very good. I couldn't see the details on the horizon.

Then start to add color to the sky. We all painted wet on wet, but broke it into stages. First, I wet the paper with water, and then began to add color to it. Everything was grey. But where to get the gray color? On my palette was not gray and black colors. I mixed brown and blue colors.

I liked that the outdoor paint dries quickly.

Then I took the other colors and started charting buildings and ships on the horizon line. This stage, for me, was a little nervous as there were tourists and took pictures of it with their phones....I was confused.

Then I started painting the water. I had no idea how to do it. But our teacher gave some advice. To the horizon the water is lighter, darker in the foreground. I can also say that my painting has absorbed the spirit of St. Petersburg. After all, I used the water from the Neva river to dilute the colors.

I had to paint small details and shadows. These are houses, ships, and most importantly - construction cranes! I'm not used to paint such straight lines. My cranes are deprived of grace.

It's been two hours. Weather during this time changed several times. The clouds broke and showed blue sky.

My finished drawing. I like it, despite the flaws and irregularities. This is my first watercolor. I felt happy and wanted to go on.

Thanks for your support and comments!

@veta-less

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

#steemitbloggers

#creative

#drawing

#painting

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Absolutely beautiful work, amazingly done. Good job! 💚

Thank you @zen-art ) I'm so glad you liked it )

Yes skate over

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool) I really like the smudges. This is Saint-Petersburg?

Thanks) Yes, St. Petersburg

Wonderful especially for a first watercolour

Thank you! I hope that the following pictures will only improve)

Nice watercolour painting :).
It's a good one, especially for your first attempt. I love all the cloudy blue in this picture.

Thank you! I wanted to convey the gloomy sky with heavy clouds! So I did it)

Hi veta-less,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for the support @curie ! It's important to me!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This looks amazing! Love seeing the process of your artwork.

I'm glad you liked it :)

You did really well for your first time. Its beautiful!!

You will only get better with time and consistent practice!

Thank you! I really want to learn watercolor! ) I understand that now this is the first uncertain attempt)

You sure will get better at it.

An uncertain attempt that turned out well!

Oh wow!!! It turned out REALLY NICE! Who says you don't know how to paint huh?? It looks really good. So have u overcome your fear of water colour now?

Thanks, @zord189. Yes, fear has overcome! I want to practice and practice :)) And I've already read the whole book about watercolor sketching)

haha, will keep an eye out more of ur water colour posts :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00