My Doodle | People Above Things

in #elegance6 years ago

header.jpg

"People Above Things"

People above things. This sentence keeps on playing on my mind throughout this evening. I think it begs to be put down on paper in some form of art. Today is Sunday and Sunday is the busiest day of my week. We have a church service from mid-morning until the afternoon. After the service we proceeds for lunch and sometimes we go for a bit of shopping or just go somewhere for a bit of fun. So as you can see, lesser time to devote to art.

So today, I decided to use this short sentence in my doodle. Nothing fancy for today but this sentence means a lot to me. You see, in my previous post Time Never Waits, I wrote how we all live in a constant state of frenzy with very little time for ourselves or our family and friends. We often put things above people; above our relationship with our loved ones and those that really matter. These things could be anything - gadgets, jobs, hobbies, whatever. As long as they "take us away" from people, they fall into this category of "things". Without realizing it our self-worth is almost completely tied to these things. We put so much emphasis on these things and sometimes, without realizing it, we might decline requests for help when others were in need.

Our excuses could be like these:

"I can't come over to your place because I have to stay back to finish my work."
"I can't play with you now because I need to watch this TV show."
"I can't help you because I have to do..."

We put our "things" above people's needs because they inconvenienced us. Now I am not saying work is not important etc but what I am trying to say is this:

All of us have a finite time on earth. When we reach the end, we want to be surrounded by our loved ones. The last thing we want is to be surrounded by our lifeless material possessions or achievements. When we are dying all those things will become meaningless.

So, invest our limited time on earth on people, on people who are dear to us. Put people, and relationships above the things that seem to be so important to us now.

Medium used: fine liner, and markers.

The progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post! I hope you like my art and give me a follow :)

Do you ONO? Join me on the new decentralized social media, Ono Social. Download the app on Google Playstore/Apple Appstore. Invitation code: OC3T

My previous posts:

Doodle Painting | Time Never Waits

Doodle Painting | Be Still

Doodle Painting | Don't Stop

Doodle Painting | Where We Grow

My Dada.nyc Drawing | The Cacti

Pencil Portrait | Wonderful Life

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!

FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Very cool doodle

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Beautiful intertwining in the background and excellent colors for the writing..great work

Thank you for your kind words @ran.koree 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88