Teaching is becoming a shameful profession. The King Sun would be proud of the society.

in #education7 years ago

MetuKeliautojas2.JPG

I have been talking with my mom, a speech therapist, today about educational problems. She works in a kindergarten and tells me a lot of stories about the teachers working in there. Well, I don't know if it is only Lithuania, but boy, the situation is downright scary.

Apparently, those stereotypes of angry, envy and depressed teachers, who only want to make other people lives miserable are real. It is a sad fact. I would not trust my kids to the majority of teachers in schools or kindergartens... to be honest, even universities. And the worst thing - we cannot blame those teachers for that. The whole society ate them up and spit their bones out. Even the ones who ever had some integrity lost it after many years of teaching under terrible conditions.

I mean, all the money goes to private businesses, financial institutions, and similar 'evil' places, which are only there to make money. I am not against this system as I consider to be part of the 'evil' side, and I even have right skills. So, if my purpose was to make money, I think I would do just fine.

A matter of priorities

Anyway, the priority of any school is to educate kids. It has no time to make money. Just like banks don't have time to educate kids. It is simple. Sadly, a teacher cannot buy themselves food with gratefulness of well-educated kids. Bankers, on the other hand, can buy food with money. And we face a problem here.

Ambitious people, no matter how much they would love to teach kids (there are exceptions of course), choose careers which can bring them money. That lowers the demand and requirements in the educational system, leading to increased numbers of incompetent teachers, who become even less competent after they spend years working for a, "Thank you. We appreciate your great efforts to educate kids, our future."

MetuKeliautojas11.jpg

Everyone thinks that they are the Sun King

I don't want to tell you that education is the most important thing ever or that without smart kids we will be doomed. It is obvious, and yet, nobody gives a damn about it. This way our society is degenerating faster than Usain Bolt run.

As long as everyone thinks that they are Louis XIV, the Sun King, the world cannot change. And ironically, kids will know less and less with so many magnificent opportunities on their hands.

I might become a teacher one day to fix this all, but first I need to make some money. Oh, the irony. But seriously, teachers are incompetent because there is no prestige to be a teacher anymore. Also, the society thinks that teachers should not earn more money because they are incompetent. Which came first, the chicken or the egg?

P.S. I love kids from the third-world countries as they are not yet destroyed by the nonfunctioning society. They just learn universal truths from nature, and nature never lies or misleads them. It is funny and sad at the same time.

Sort:  

Lithuania need such teacher as you! As I understand, you are young, but very smart and interesting man. Good luck! Linkėjimai iš Vilniaus!:)

Thanks, those are very kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17