You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting started teaching English abroad and how to progress

in #education6 years ago

Great post here and it’s very relevant to my current situation. So you taught English for about 5 years, was that all in Thailand?

I teach engineering (in English) in China at polytechnics, so like colleges. It works great for me at the moment as I have small contracts, 6-10 weeks at a time, I get paid pretty well and then get free time to decide what’s next.

I have been in the same position as you in terms of really not wanting to teach anymore, but I guess where I have shorter term contracts it helps me focus for 2 months and get it done - always light at the end of the tunnel!

It can be pretty rewarding and I guess teaching kids could be fun.

I don’t have a tefl but I do have a bachelors in engineering, both really do help. As you
Mentioned a tefl not only helps you get the job but also gives you skills and ideas when teaching.

I have some things to think about with the teaching career, I mean, like you’ve said, time off is always good. I don’t know if I can currently find a career I will want to work 12 months a year everyday. You do et great holidays etc!

Great post and I look forward to your next one about teaching :)

Sort:  

I actually taught mostly math and science (in English) and one year i taught all 3. Because i was in town I ended up being the go-to rescue teacher for a long time after other teachers did "a runner"

Getting a TEFL might not be required in your position and if you already have experience as an engineer and teaching english there are likely opportunities available to you that wouldn't be available to the run-of-the-mill TEFL teacher... the problem is finding them. I would imagine a good place for you to start (at least in Asia) is to look into the oil and gas industry as they are loaded and might need that sort of thing. It's worth a shot!

As far as teaching kids is concerned: If i were you you i would have a go at doing something in China (since you are already there) but to be honest i think you have much greater earning potential in doing something specialized towards engineering - i mean teaching Asian foremen or engineer-related individuals English. That is very important if they ever aspire to work on lucrative middle-eastern projects, for example.

The big money contracts for teaching kids are almost entirely located in Korea, Japan, and Taiwan. Everyone i know in this field currently makes BANK, and gets flights and accommodation paid for. I will touch base on this a bit more in the next episode, which i plan to release tomorrow :)

All the best...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47