THE REWARD OF A TEACHER – MY EXPERIENCE

in #education7 years ago


.

mentoring students on the assembly ground

Some people argue that the rewards of a teacher is in heaven, others believe it is right here on earth, but what do you think or say?

It was a sunny saturday, I went to Maitama, in Abuja, to visit a family friend of mine.
I drove in my Honda Accord car known in Nigeria as Honda Baby boy.

Taking a walk

On my way back, my car broke down on the way after Powerhouse junction, towards ECOWAS Office. So I pulled over. Alighted and was walking along the street to board a taxi to where I could get a mechanic to come and fix the car.

Then the hug

Suddenly, I heard someone call out my name from inside a Toyota Pathfinder which emerged behind me and pulled over just ahead of me. Then a tall young man emerged from the car with much excitement and smiles on his face and dashed towards me. He hailed me Mr Jude as he hugged me. I stood speechless and perhaps confused because, I could not recognise him.
Noticing my coldness, he understood that I did not remember him. So he rhetorically asked how I could forget him so soon. And asked me if I remembered one Sylvester back then in Bedrock International Academy, where I once taught CRK. It then dawned on me and I remembered how I Used to punish them whenever they did wrong, years ago.

Guess what...


He asked me what I was doing there and I told him how my car broke down on my way from visiting a friend. He gave me a ride to a mechanic’s workshop where we got one to come and fix the car.
To my greatest surprise, he offered to settle the bill. And gave me money N25,000 (US$ 83 worth) he collected my contact and called to meet me on a certain day. As we met, he told me that I Deserve a better car than what I had so, he gave me keys to a better car he got for me.

Conclusion

At first I thought I was dreaming until he left me with the car. Then it struck my mind that the teacher’s reward is not only in heaven but begins right here on earth if you do well.

Appreciate your teachers.

It is good to be a teacher.

It pays to be a teacher,

I am proud to be a teacher.

Please comment, upvote, resteem and follow me @judesh .

Thanks for visiting my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86