Bokeh

in #education7 years ago

Brief information: Bokeh is how the lens draws objects outside the focus area. In other words, this is the blur zone on the open diaphragm. Another word for bokeh is often called circles, which are formed from bright objects or glare in the background in the blur zone.

All lenses have different bokeh. Most of all portraitists are valued swirling bokeh.
Especially it is shown on Soviet lenses Helios 44 (58 mm) and Helios 40 (85 mm)
The most boring bokeh at standard zoom and wide angle lenses, in which aperture in the area of 4 - 5.6.

Once I did even a bokeh test, took the lenses I had and photographed the same object. I photographed from different points, because the focal lengths are different.

The image below shows examples of background blur from different lenses. Everyone had a maximally open aperture.

It turns out that the more focal length, the stronger the background blurs.
Helios 44-2 and Canon 50 1.8 bokeh are roughly the same, only Helios has less microcontrast and sharpness.

The most interesting for Jupiter-9 (85 mm) and for Jupiter-37A (135 mm)

Well, the standard zoom Canon EF-S 17-85 is clearly not suitable for shooting portraits, lovers of bokeh, it definitely will not please.

All the pictures were taken on Canon 50d in JPEG without processing.

Sort:  

Love the differences!

Hi @evildeathcore
Cool post, I love the Bokeh of a wide open Helios 44-2. It's been my favorite lens this year. Somehow hard to hit focus with it as is's quite soft and lack the contrast, but hey: if you can find it's sweet spot the image will be a keeper!

Yes it is, thanks!

Ah Bokeh. A subject near and dear to my heart. This is the reason I still occasionally use my Helios manual focus lenses even though my Helios 40-2 is such a beast, and weighs more than the cameras I use it on.

Helios soft but bokeh is picturesque!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67