You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The college scam in USA

in #education2 years ago (edited)
The first year I was in school I was required to take a bunch of classes that everyone had to take including a basic computing class where almost everyone in the class knew more than the professor about the various programs we were being taught.

Not only do they act like you didn't use those MS programs in your prior four years of HS, but that you've never even used a computer before. I can't recall how much time was wasted remembering definitions, DEFINITIONS, of basic shit anyone who's ever used a computer before knows.

I wonder where the "4-year" concept came from. Doesn't it seem a little strange to you that it doesn't matter if you are studying Criminal Justice, Biology, Construction Management, or Computer Science and ALL OF THEM take exactly 4 years worth of classroom time to be "qualified?"
A lot of it is just gate keeping pure and simple. Sure you need professional training to become a doctor, nurse, psychotherapist, lawyer, accountant etc. but to start a business or work in some menial service sector job (as many graduates end up) you need experience. I think this is why rednecks tend to go to technical college instead of traditional four year schools. You learn a directly employable skill for a fraction of the cost. Sure on average you have lower earning potential but don't risk spending $50,000 on a liberal arts degree to work at Target.
Sort:  

what a wonderful reply and I totally agree with you about any intro to computers class that is taught in college. I remember we had to remember the history of computing including going back to the first calculators and the Babbage machine and tons of other dead technologies. If I wanted to work at a museum I can see how this would be important, but a general college course that everyone has to take? Give me a break.

I guess I can understand the "paying your dues" gatekeeper process but that doesn't make it any less of a scam. I knew a lot of people in college that I still keep in touch with today and almost none of them went to work in the field that they were majoring in. Some of them took something stupid in liberal arts and went on to work in Finance, make a ton of money, even though their educational background had nothing at all to do with the industry.

If I could go back in time I would have gone to technical college and I think that is a very good route that should be explored by a lot of people, not just rednecks. It's just more practical and you wont find an "intro to computers" class that is forced upon you if you are studying something like say, welding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87