Abundance Woes 1/4 - What To Do With All That Stuff?

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Abundance Woes 1/4 - What To Do With All That Stuff?


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

haha @stortebeker This post is GOLD.I'm especially loving and laughing at your indooor compost experiments and Lovely Lizzy - we have LOTS of house lizards in Thailand and they're real gems to keep the insect levels down. On a funny note, my uncle who is-was a tenured Professor of Biology at Leiden University in Holland is one of the world's leading experts on Drosphyllia melangasta.... the humble fruit fly... and has many similar stories to yours of internal composting gotten out of hand. :) They are in plague proportions in Thailand too, especially in mango season. Sweet, thoughtful, positive post - LOVED the bicycles!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thank you, I'm so happy you liked my post! Hehehe, in your description it sounds like it was much worse than what I had... for the first two weeks or so it actually did seem like it would really get serious, and I'm sure it would have literally gotten out of hand, had it not been for Lizzy. When I repeated the kitchen composting here in Mexico, I was hoping for a local lizard, but unfortunately my dog would never have put up with it... so in the end I moved the worm-bin to the roof.

wow man, what a GEM this post is, as are you! I just Love that FNB project, AMAZING what you did.. and i bet you remeber those days forever.. seriously cool work bro!

Thank you so much for your kind words, @eco-alex. Makes me want to keep writing these posts. :-)

Three awesome stories that inspire you to take action reduce waste and transform waste into opportunities

Posted using Partiko Android

holy smokes, you've flooded my heart with inspiring stories. I love what you did with all of that wonderful excess food, truly something to be proud of. We have a spider house guest who's been keeping the flies in check! :)

Ideally this would be the most common-sense thing to do. Unfortunately, there is so much opposition to such a basic principle as avoiding waste. Even if not in a physical form by authoritarian authorities, people still notice how unusual it is. Crazy, right? But sadly it follows the pattern of a culture where it is the norm to defecate in clean drinking water.

Love the food not bombs idea. I wanted to cook some meals for the homeless in the area and take it downtown in the evenings I was in only to have all this red tape thrown at me, because of health and safety (gone mad), but it did make me get a food hygiene certificate.

But is still something I actually need to do. In hindsight, I should have not told anyone and just have done it anyway.

Oh, I have heard so many things about authorities shutting down FNB, confiscating utensils, even impersonating organizers to get them in trouble, it's insane. The health safety red tape seems comparatively reasonable, though just as annoying. Fortunately we never ran into any of these things.

This is great, I remember reading about all that wonderful bike art before on your blog. I done a lot of dumpster diving in the past. Some countries here in Europe spray the food that they dump so that people can't take it, esp in the cities, what a waste. I have such fond memories of all the wonderful food I got, esp from organic shops.
We have a little gecko living in our truck, I love it she really helps keep the flies in check, xx

Yes, I keep hearing stories like that too, about supermarkets that pour bleach onto the food they discard so no one would take it. In my opinion that just raises the absurd to the level of insane. The other thing that goes along with that are stories from structured and organized Germany, where FNB volunteers were arrested for dumpstering food, and were given... what irony... community hours at the Tafel, which is kinda like an institutionalized FNB.

You have given such a different perspective to the subject . I feel there are times when we have something in Abundance may be not because it is our direct need but the universe feels you are the right source to pur it to best use and I see that's whar is happening with you

I like the way you put it! I agree, it is rarely ONLY one person's direct need, just like any resource is never meant to serve ONLY one need of one person (even if they put a fence around it). I think this goes along with the notion that the earth does not belong to us, but we belong to the earth. Thus we participate in the creation of abundance, by simply doing what we're doing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stortebeker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70