Which Wolf Will You Feed - Original painting - A twist on a Cherokee proverbsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain6 years ago

BEA93BA3-0660-4E68-A85A-A392391783C3.jpeg

An old Grandfather said to his granddaughter, who came to him with anger at a friend who had done her an injustice, "Let me tell you a story.

I too, at times, have felt a great hate for those that have taken so much, with no sorrow for what they do.

But hate wears you down, and does not hurt your enemy. It is like taking poison and wishing your enemy would die. I have struggled with these feelings many times." He continued, "It is as if there are two wolves inside me. One is good and does no harm. He lives in harmony with all around him, and does not take offense when no offense was intended. He will only fight when it is right to do so, and in the right way.

But the other wolf, ah! He is full of anger. The littlest thing will set him into a fit of temper. He fights everyone, all the time, for no reason. He cannot think because his anger and hate are so great. It is helpless anger,for his anger will change nothing.

Sometimes, it is hard to live with these two wolves inside me, for both of them try to dominate my spirit."

The young maiden looked intently into her Grandfather's eyes and asked, "Which one wins, Grandfather?"

The Grandfather smiled and quietly said, "The one I feed."

There are several versions of this story floating around and I took the liberty of changing it a bit. It is apparently debated whether it is an actual Native American tale, but none the less it inspired me to make this painting. I have a small bit of Cherokee blood in me so perhaps that’s why it resonated.
http://www.firstpeople.us/FP-Html-Legends/TwoWolves-Cherokee.html

Here are a couple of shots of the work in progress.

056858D8-8F2C-40AD-AF79-3F7DFE9DAF8F.jpeg

D185A01C-468F-40C9-BA96-DF23E4DAA0F3.jpeg

1A82EEF4-2ABD-4113-95FD-4B0A9A2D806E.jpeg

Here is some beautiful music to set the stage. The two wolves story starts at about five minutes in, but the violin leading up to it is beautiful.

Have a blessed day and try to feed your good wolf. 😊🐺

57CDBAA5-C0D7-402E-AFC7-B6C16CA667A8.jpeg

EE068D76-233D-4C5A-94BF-BBF5888BEEA6.png

Sort:  

gorgeous art!! at first i didn't realize you had painted that. it's really very beautiful :)

you know, i have heard this story many times, but as usual, things come to me when i need to hear them (again). "it is like drinking poison and only harming yourself"... thanks for this. going to meditate with it <3

Thank you so much! The story really speaks to me too.

Georgeous!

Two Wolves, Nahko, Tim Snyder w/ the electric violin solo! I love it. What a way to kick-start my Thursday! Thank you <3

Much love,
-g0nr0gue

Thank you so much for your sweet comments and for resteeming! Love to you too!

I have always loved this story. Gorgeous painting!

Thanks so much!

Very nice painting.
To be honest, I tend to feed both. Is that bad?
Thanks :)

I think we probably all feed them both sometimes. Is it good or bad? I guess you have to examine your life and see how it's going and adjust accordingly. Thanks so much for the comments!

This painting is very nice! I enjoyed the story as well, I think it will stick with me :)

Thank you so much!

This is a beautiful post and I feel richer for having read and absorbed you art. Beautiful. Found you via #ecotrain and following you from Northern Thailand. :) Much gratitude for a new, positive connection. And thank you for the upvote of my comment... :)

Thank you so much for the kind comments! 🌺🌸🌺

Oh, I love this one! it "speaks" not only as a part of the legend but on its own! You are very talented, dear! and I am absolutely loving keep being introduced to new parts of your soul through your art!

Image Source

Thank you so much! That really means a lot to me. 🌸🌺🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99