You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts and ideas of the week...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I read that hypnotherapy can be very useful in treating victims of child abuse, so I guess if you specialize in this field you would have a lot of clients in Ireland, courtesy of the Catholic church.
Or is that only my anti-Catholic, Protestant upbringing in the former realm of Wilhelm von Oranien shining through?
I can still remember how my father was ranting against the idea of a representative of God on earth when I was a child.
His hero was definitely Luther and not the pope. 😄

Sort:  

Yes, hypnotherapy can definitely be very useful in treating victims of (child) abuse. I specialized in regression and trauma treatment, so yeah I would have a lot of clients here. The only problem is that a lot of the victims here haven't even come forward yet, let alone that they would walk into some strangers office to get treatment. There was a lot of shaming going on while that abuse happened, plus a lot of the victims were boys...that's even harder because most of them would never admit they have a problem.

I probably mentioned this before, but the first part of my youth, I grew up in Germany. Our part of the country was dominantly Catholic. However, there were a few Protestants in my class and even more in the area. I've never experienced the Catholic church in a bad way then. I can't recall them 'pushing' it on anyone, and I've never seen any different treatment of Protestants. It was a shock for me when later I learned of all the nasty things that happened in Ireland, and the hate between the two religions (which was undoubtedly fuelled by propaganda, because before the 'troubles' everyone just got along).
But after we returned to Holland, when I was 12, I've seen the nonsense in the church and I agree with your father: the pope absolutely sucks. There shouldn't be any religious leader like him and if you ask me, he has way too much power in the world. But Luther? Hmmmm, I can't say I feel much more for him either. Just the fact that he felt women were second class citizens and everything else that came out of his mouth about women made me sick.

Yes, Luther was anti-women, hated the jews and wrote pamphletes against the peasant uprisings, but he also reformed Christianity and gave people an alternative to Catholic dogma.
In 2017 Germany celebrated the Luther Year, 500 years of Reformation, and there were a lot of critical articles and discussions about Luther, so people could see both sides of him, the light and the shadow.
And let´s not forget, in a way and in the context of his times he was a rebel, risking his life for his beliefs and I certainly like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87