Who is She? Will the Real Hope Huggs Please Stand Up

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

realhopehuggs.jpg

For those of you who wonder who Hope Huggs is, this is my re-introduction written for @ecotrain, as they'd like you to know their passengers better...

So for the people who'd like to know

Who is She?

Source: edited this Nikki Graham clip from this video

This is who I am today, it might be different next week, next month, hell it will even be minutely different even later today, but this is today's snapshot...

Well, my real name is Helen Doherty, but the Hope Huggs personna was meant to be the better side of me, my pen name, for a whole lot of books that are still in the process of being produced, part of the one day idea pile.

Although it didn't work out quite like that, as what I have shared on Steemit this past year or so has been a rather warts and all and it ended up being totally me.

When I first made an appearance on Steemit, I was still married. Well technically I still am, but I will be putting wheels in motion to change that status very soon. But I am separated, soon to be divorced.

My steemit posts charted the breakup, and realizing that a lot of that relationship consisted of was emotional abuse, from both sides to be fair and the agonizing decision to move on.

Not the easiest of decisions or outcomes, as being a single parent is hard, although I kind of knew what it was like before, as didn't get a lot of help anyway.

So my fellow Steemians put up with a lot of rawness of emotion, especially in the form of poetry and anger. And a lot of posts about seeking happiness, beating depression and loving trees.

2018

Cut to 2018, I wrote an ebook about Steemit and how I earned a living from it for two months, following some dedication and focus and that did really well and sold over 2000 copies. I don't know if over 2000 people have joined Steemit since, but there have been a fair few.

It has also propelled me into the world of internet marketing and new income streams that allow me to get off benefits and make my own way in the world. I hope to inspire and help others to the same.

I also have lofty ambitions to start up the Hope Bank Project (read about the idea behind that here), when I can invest in it to make sure that account's votes can make a difference to people in need of a little financial help to get out of whatever situation, they are in. I had this mad idea to make a million and give it away and this is how I plan to make that aspiration come true. This is something I want to have put into action by the end of this year.

But first, I need to get my own house in order and pay off my own debts, which I will be able to do once the SBD rises again (it will, I have every faith in it). And make sure I can support me and my two beautiful girls in the style we have become accustomed to.

More About What Makes Me Tick

I am on a path of continuous self-improvement and seeking meaning, purpose and helping people fulfills me. It is great to be in a position where I am able to do this every day and it also means redefining who I am too, which has thrown up a few surprises and new friends along the way.

The best thing about this year has been discovering my freedom and having no restrictions on my decisions, which has really enabled the above opportunities to open up, as I got to think about what I wanted, not constantly trying and failing to find something that would match two people's goals that turned out to be poles apart.

On the spiritual side of things, I am interested in finding out more about my ancestors and have bought a DNA test to see where my ancestors spring from. I am a mudblood Brit, so I could have any amount of different origins and I'm curious to see what it finds out. Maybe I'm an alien haha.

creature-1063244_1280.jpg

But I am of the opinion that deities that we are all worship are essentially, all the same, just whispers that have traveled across the seas and developed into major religions.

When you look closely at religions, you can see the same stories in different words, stolen from what they now deem pagan sources. To find true spirituality I think you need to look more at the ancient civilizations, or at least times before religion ripped the world apart.

Sources of peace and tranquillity seem to emanate from nature itself and finding spots that are sacred to us, like hearing the whispering wisdom of the trees, or the sound of a creek caressing your soul is where our centers lie, in my opinion.

Spirituality and religion is a personal decision and as long as that decision is yours, not something expected or imposed on you, then that is all good. I will respect and accept that, as I would expect in return too in an ideal world.

At the moment, I am rather enjoying being part of the 100 days Poetry Challenge and reading people's entries and they are reawakening my creative side, which seems to be overpowered by the work side this last couple of months. I have written a poem, but for once I don't want to publish that one, not yet anyway. I will choose another subject, so its working - the creativity is stirring.

I also write the FAB journal, which charts my (ahem) daily journey, but I kind of failed miserably on one of the tasks I set myself this month aka doing dishes every day, so I have not posted for a week and we have eaten out 3 days this week. But I do have a new plan regarding this, which I will share in the next FAB post later today, although a dishwasher would be nice.

My lesson learned is that goals need to be more aligned with what I need to improve right now, not what I think should do. I need to majorly improve in the area of spoken conversation. I have some ideas on how to improve that, but it will also need some research too, as it just doesn't seem to happen naturally. If only I could get some of this writing prowess to come out of my mouth, that'd be a start.

Okay, so that is a snapshot of me at this current moment in time, bit like this one....

20180317_110657 (1).jpg

@hopehuggs <3

Ps sorry about the video, but Nikki always made me crack up. I think that was last Big Brother I ever watched.

Who are You Today?

Free daily crypto: Swift Coins
How To Get Free STEEM POWER

Mingle with People Making a Difference in the EcoTrain Discord Group

Sort:  

Wow, it's so wonderful to know so much about you Helen. You are doing a lot of things in goodness and I am sure they'll all manifest positively for you. I wish that your home buying mission is accomplished as desired, and then you are able to kick start with the HopeBank project. I love your views on Religion, very true it's the same story in different versions.
I wish you all the very best for your future endeavours.

It might not be in that order, I m thinking of making Steemit my altruistic venture, once I have got more of a routine down and know what I'm doing.

Great to get to know you better!
And that ebook success, good stuff.
When I went to visit friends and family in my hometown last week,
I told some of my friends about your success on steemit and with your ebook and even came up with a name for you, so that they could grasp the whole dimension of it.
"J. K. Rowling for the poor"
Don´t even know if that expression works in English (Splendor and Misery of Translation), but basically it means that your story is similar to hers, albeit on a smaller scale.
So, a wicked German compliment! 😘

I have been wondering how to brand myself. I think you have nailed it. In five years time, I'll be on a par with J K Rowling (and all the great stuff she does for charity too).

In case you wanna brand yourself. The double H brand.

Haha, booked myself in to get a tattoo in July, so kind of doing just that then.

When you look closely at religions, you can see the same stories in different words, stolen from what they now deem pagan sources. To find true spirituality I think you need to look more at the ancient civilizations, or at least times before religion ripped the world apart.

This is so true, I'd always thought I was the only one seeing this. Almost every religion has a related story line. The only difference are the names of the heros. Even the antagonist stays the same(devil/Satan).
Every religion preaches peace but still there is chaos and conflict all around the world even by the so-called religious countries.
I believe there's a thin line between religion and spirituality. That thing line is called hypocrisy.

I enjoyed reading a little about you and I also found out why you have much interest in poetry.
I wish you showed more pictures of you and also wish you talked a little about your country

I will be sure to write some posts about the UK and include some pictures of me and my girls, as obviously, they are a big part of my life. My 7 year old wants to start a Vlog, so that may happen one day. A friend has offered to help with video production actually, maybe I should give him some of the kids videos to remaster.

Such decision from her at such a tender age is a big milestone already. Wishing her the best of lucks in a vlog. Hoping to have them on steemit soonest also. Lol

Wonderful post. Some of this I already knew from meeting you through your Post 2 Profits ebook, but a lot I didn't know. I am also not a fan of public speaking, though people tell me I have a knack for it. I avoid it at all costs haha.

I like the idea of Hope Bank, and I hope you are able to make it happen by the end of this year. I want to eventually use some of my Steemit earnings to help others as well, though I will need to pay off some debt with my SBDs first.

My lesson learned is that goals need to be more aligned with what I need to improve right now, not what I think should do.

I love that you said this. I struggle with my goal planning all the time. As an entrepreneur, there are things I would really love to devote time to, but I end up doing what I think I should instead. I need to reassess my 2018 goals already, putting more of the NEEDS before the SHOULDS!

A similar plan to me, I'd love to make Steemit my 'charitable' earnings one day, when the debts are paid off, which really won't be long once SBD climbs again.

I have to just admit I am not a housework person. Blitzing the place every few days works for me and it only lasts minutes, or until the kids come home.

Looking forward to having you on the My Life in 8 Songs show in a couple of weeks.

You might like to make contact with @ravenuis - she helps people with family history research. And I believe she takes payment in steem as well.

Hi @pennsif, I have 6 songs now, three to go by next week ;)

Looking good - 8 needed in total.

It is tricky to keep it down to 8 - I have tried it myself now 😊

Really nice getting to know you better @hopehuggs, I am with you on religion and spirituality. It is so important to accept others as they are, some really confuse acceptance with agreement when they are different. Really happy you are feeling free. You sure are keeping yourself super busy with all these projects you are involved in and started up. Great to have you back on the ecotrain x

Yes, super busy and always about 3 days behind. But I am using today as a catch-up day and I'm getting there. It is definitely great reading about all the passengers. Can't wait for the round-up post.

I am glad to really know the person behind that name "hopehuggs". Ability to switch personalities and act like that shows a level of creativity and adaptation.
You are strong, a goal getter and I kind of like your ideology on religion and spiritualism.
I hope the whole plans you are putting in place pan out well for you and the girls. I also hope to be a part of this too 😉😁

I will help as many people as I can along the way, that is part of who I am :)

you have a beautiful name and you are beautiful women .Nice to meet you, Helene. you are a woman capable of managing your privacy. divorce is a difficult time for you. I already divorced my wife in 1996 and I married her after 6 months and I had two boys with her 21 years old and 18 years old because the love between us is still alive. sometimes when my wife gets very angry I want to leave her and go far but I think of my children and the family. so I hope everything is going well with you, Helene and your family

Thank you, things are going well now, paving the future road with awesome opportunities.

Wow! @hopehuggs, but you are a beautiful lady so pretty as ever, divorced is not the end of life you will surely progress in all your endeavors because you are lady with focus, you have also touched life in this community, I like your courage you said Sbd will rise again this your statement also boost my moral of not regretted I am in this platform.

Thank you for your words of support. Yes, the fall in SBD has disheartened a lot of people, but I am 100% certain it will rise again. HODL time as they say.

My steemit account was dormant for about a year, but I got and read your book and now I am motivated to be a part of the community again. The world needs steemit right now as major tech companies are cracking down on the expression of ideas and information. So much insightful, useful and actionable content comes from here, thanks for you contribution.

Thank you @alphabit, comments like these mean the world to me. I'm really glad my book helped kickstart you back into the wonderful world of steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84