Sort:  

In my home, it is considered as dangerous, as burning 100 ciggrattes.
Anyway, you gave a good idea to share some home remedy to mosquito😉 may be tomorrow...hope those will be useful and easy..

Lots of useful and easy natural ideas in my next post. Promise. :)

Yes, you’re right, mosquito coils are dangerous when inhaled from the smoke. I used to use them myself and felt a headache after them.

Headache, cough, irritated eyes - all good warning signs to MOVE AWAY. Glad you don't use them anymore.

Shock horror....

What do you mean theres no such thing as tooth faries!!!?

They didn't tell you yet? Aaaaw honey, I'm sorry. Shall we ask Santa and your Fairy Godmother to see what they can work out for you??

My hubby HATES them with a vengeance and we always find it hard in Asia when they want to put one under your table!!!! Looking forward to part 2 alternatives.

The scary thing is how many Australians buy them online - HUGE business here to sell them online to people in countries where they are blocked from commercial import. The indonesian ones are just as bad. Incense like Nag Champa? Worse.

Sadly enough it is the one go to mosquito repellent in Cambodia too. Looking forward to hear what you are using instead. I use an essential oil burner with lemon and eucalyptus in the house and outside I use the same essential oils but mixed in coconut oil and applied to my skin.

That's a good option. You'll find the essential oils diluted into alcohol is MORE effective than coconut oil - the alcohol itself kills some of the mosquito-attracting bacteria on the skin.

It's dangerous and should be banned. I never use it...

Good to hear!

I don't trust those things. Cambodia is the same as Thailand, with less regulations. But I'm sure in both of those countries there is little oversight on what's actually going on in the factories making these things. I don't know if Cambodia produces any themselves, but most products are generally Thai or Vietnamese.

I just burn normal Indian incense to keep mosquitoes at bay near my computer desk. We generally wear long sleeves and pants here in Suriname though, so it's not too much of an issue during the day.

Indonesian incense - in fact nearly all incense - is almist as toxic. Another post for another day. Toss that crap - including the nag champa - in the bin if you value your health.

Most of them are made from God only knows what. Here in Suriname we have a few natural ones at the shops. One that works for us quite well is mainly cinnamon, lemongrass and musk.

It's the combustion itself that is equally toxic, as explained in my post. "musk" = chemical endocrine-disrupting nasty. Real musk costs more than gold. The "natural" ones are equally harmful and possibly more misleading.

Well, I will have to take that combustion risk head-on. I am much more concerned four out health from out neighbor's burning trash, the exhaust fumes we inhale everyday walking next to the highway and all the cigarette smoke we get exposed to in public everyday. If we burn some coconut shells and incense at home every so often, and it keeps the mosquitoes away, we are happy to keep mosquito-born diseases away. All those natural products can be quite expensive if you're living in poverty, but a pair of long pants has got to be the first defense.

Go with the long light coloured pants and a cheap floor level fan - much better. "burning one mosquito coil would release the same amount of PM(2.5) mass as burning 75-137 cigarettes"

I really don't think they are safe and personally I can't tolerate their smoke and smell.. :(

WoW! Great article! Thanks for sharing so many useful information! I never thought of the mosquito coli to be dangerous for people too.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86