Did anyone else feel that?.... It honestly felt like the earth was just rocking me to sleep.

in #earthquake6 years ago

EARTHQUAKE: Now that I look into it I realize it was exactly what I thought it was....


(Souce: https://gyazo.com/70654369514481d768b4124b2e24b44c)

Funny how it is even highlighted in red so I didn't have to look far. I am assuming it is because of the Magnitude being higher than the others. Then again, it isn't very funny... I hope that everyone is okay. I don't see any fires in the nighttime sky and I don't hear any sirens.

In the picture below you can see 2 blue squares for "quakes in the past day".

As it was more than an hour after that I thought to see if anyone else felt it the squares turned blue but man that is close to where I live... as I am about 10 miles north from them.
I am very glad it was only a 3.2 Magnitude. As I don't need to see anymore natural disasters or widespread grief anymore in this lifetime... I have had my fill for sure.

This information has me also looking into how many are happening around me as well as how often it has been since this many have happened.

If anyone else has any information please feel free to share it as it would be much appreciated as I live on the 2nd floor of an apartment building and this has me a little worried.

I guess this is the official welcome to California!

Have a good night everyone!

Sort:  

Am quite far away so there's no way I could feel that but am glad I didn't have to wake up this morning and start calling people over there to know if they are fine. Like you mentioned, I don't wanna see anymore natural disaster and people suffering from it. Am glad everything is cool.

Quite a while, you are really off these days. Thought of messaging you on discord but decided to wait since you mentioned last time that are quite busy. How are you, your wife and the coming baby? Hope everyone is smiling? Enjoy the rest of the day.

I am on Steemit just about every day although I don't often comment or post new things. I usually just upvote here and there and every now and then post a comment.

Thanks for checking in and I am too glad that you don't have to check in on loved ones. I am the only person in my family that lives out here other than the lady and the coming baby. We are fine though and it really wasn't a big one so it didn't affect us so much.

We are great although she is grumpy now as it is hard for her to sleep.

Don't be worried, just say a little prayer, no one want to see natural disaster and devastating effects... From the comment of the @lordjames I never knew you were a expectant father, I just check on your page and found out about, how is she and the baby?

Already did say a prayer and we are great! :D

I am indeed expecting the first child and we are so super excited to meet him! :D

Thanks for checking in!

Wow this is scary. Did you just get into california? From the pix above, it seems like this occurs more often than you think but the one at yucca valley has been the biggest quake so far.

Maybe we call these Earth tremors and nor Earth quakes as it did not cause any major disaster.

I am very glad it was only a 3.2 Magnitude. As I don't need to see anymore natural disasters or widespread grief anymore in this lifetime... I have had my fill for sure.

What major disaster have you encountered ?

I have been in California for over a year now. Although this is the first one I have felt this is not an unusual thing for this area. Yucca Valley is about a 15min drive from where I live and it was very odd to realize this is something that happens more than one time a day.... sometimes more than one time an hour.

Yes, I agree Earth Tremors are a better fitting word I guess. The only damage I have heard about is power outages and the internet dropped for a while but other than that there wasn't any widespread destruction or damage.

Originally I was born in Florida where I lived During Hurricane Andrew and several other smaller storms that caused a lot of damage. I was also living in Mississippi During Hurricane Katrina. Also during my time in Mississippi I saw several Tornadoes with my own eyes and even saw the aftermath of one that knocked over a 100+ year old tree into a neighbor's house.... Flooding, a lot of flooding. Kinda glad I don't live in Mississippi anymore.

Other than that, I was living in Colorado during the Fires in 2007 that burned A LOT of the western slopes and hearing all the people talk about what they had lost was devastating... Luckily I lived in a small area that the fires appeared to go around. The Waldo Canyon fire in Colorado Springs... I forget what year it was but I believe it was 2014.

Other than that I have seen a lot of death and tragedy in my own family and friends that I just don't understand and I really don't want to experience anything that adds more grief to my life. I like being happy, right now with a son on the way, I am happy. I would like to stay that way :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00