Duck Adventures Vol. 3 - Feeding Time!

in #ducks5 years ago (edited)

Welcome back to Duck Adventures. One of the most fun parts of having the ducks is feeding time. They have a ferocious appetite after wandering around the yard and swimming in the pond all day. You might be wondering, what do ducks eat?

First have a look at my video.

In nature ducks eat:

Small fish and fish eggs.

Snails, worms, slugs, and mollusks.

Small crustaceans such as crayfish.

Grass, leaves, and weeds.

Algae and aquatic plants and roots.

Frogs, tadpoles, salamanders, and other amphibians.

Aquatic and land insects.

Seeds and grain.

Even though they forage all day for some of the above items, I supplement their diet to make sure they stay healthy. I feed them a mixture of cracked corn and a poultry feed, the latter of which of which provides protein and necessary nutrients. I normally feed them once a day, usually in the evening. I don't have to call them up from the pond most days, as they are very aware of when it is dinner time!

Another item I have found that ducks love is lettuce. How do I know? My garden is very close to the pond and the ducks have been known to eat lettuce right from the garden. Last year I built a raised bed type wooden box to enclose the lettuce and other greens I grow, I cover with fabric to protect from the ducks, insects and harsh sun. Occasionally I will feed them some of the "scraps" for a treat.

Many people will feed ducks bread including myself in the past. However, THIS IS NOT GOOD FOR THE DUCKS. It can lead to obesity, malnutrition, and a disease called "angel wing", which s basically a malformed wing causes by too much food in a short period of time

Stay tuned for more Duck Adventuress.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dansgardening! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great, thanks for your comment.

Ducks would be really helpful in the garden. Are they good around tender seedlings to only eat the slugs around them? The male looks like a mallard. What kind of ducks are these? Are they young or full grown?

They are good in the garden but hey will pick at little seedlings so you have to be careful. The ducks are both males, the white one is a Peking and the other a Saxony, which is part Mallard.

Question for you, since the Wallet has changed, I don't see any way to cash out, etc. Have you noticed? Thanks.

Yes, many people (maybe everyone) was recently inconvenienced by the new wallet login requirement.

Are you trying to claim your rewards or send your funds from the wallet?

What I did that worked (thought I would never need to), was login using my Master Password. Then it will display all of your various private keys which can be used to login to steemit, steemwallet, and various other steem apps. Copy all of these keys if you haven't done so already. Log out. Log in using the lowest level private key the steemwallet requests, and it should work again.

Personally, I started using steampeak instead of steemit ever since these changes started this month. It has a simpler wallet access, and cleaner pages to view posts easier. No ads. Works well on a mobile phone too.

Thanks I will try steampeak.

I used master password to log into steampeak is that ok, where do i find these other password? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97