065 - Getting out your Comfort Zone

in #dtubedaily6 years ago


I listened to the Jordan Harbinger Show episode 33 on today's dog walk and it came up with an interesting idea that got me thinking. Is it always good to push ourselves outside our comfort zones? I consider this in the context of my performance anxiety. It has always felt like a worthwhile thing for me to do, but might it be affecting my overall happiness? At the time of writing this, it's gig day – I'm playing tonight after a full day at work on my own and have another full day of work on my own tomorrow. My anxiety level is high and I'm not feeling happy at all. This is how I feel every gig day and is the main reason why I've quit because I wasn't getting paid enough to endure this anxiety.

So, is it affecting my overall happiness. Today it definitely is, but overall? And do the rewards outweigh the anxiety?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you for the shout out, I find situations that break outside your normal comfort zone to be the most beneficial of all. Everything I have been trying to do on Steam it has been about knocking down my own walls, often I need to take a moment and reach out, clear my creative mind and allow the inspiration to come naturally.

Obviously you watch my videos, you will see that I have two comfort zones still within my content creation, the first one is in my car and the second is when I’m out for a walk with the dog. These are the times when my mind is blank and that natural inspiration comes to me as if it’s a message from someone else and not one of my own thoughts. I read somewhere that it’s a common phenomenon for geniuses to have their greatest inspirations come to them at times when they aren’t actively thinking on the subjects, many of them stating it comes to them in a dream.

I love your pink bag by the way, I need to get me a gimbal.
#OneLoveDtube

Yeah, that's when my ideas come too. It's decompression time.

I've been thinking more about the situation today and I still do believe that getting out of one's comfort zone can be a good thing, but not always. It's something that needs to be weighed up. I know that performing for me is a worthwhile endeavour. The discomfort comes from low self esteem, imposter syndrome – all negative emotions that aren't real and I acknowledge that they aren't, but they still have some power over me.

However, that said, if I'm working an eight-hour day then busting a gut to get out to do a performance for which I feel that I'm underpaid, then that's a different story and I felt that I had to remove myself from that situation. That's where I was coming from anyway.

My wife has been a great supporter of me and pushes me to get over my negativity and get out and play - I talk about that in today's video, which is still in the can.

Dog walks though @d00k13 - am I right?!

Yea I suppose under that type of situation that’s a different type of comfort zone.

You are right, I have 2 places of comfort my car and the forest! I only ever get into the first with my pooch and he makes the whole experience of trekking there enjoyable, never a dull moment with our Jerry he is so high energy!

Loving the bag brother. Its so fitting hahaha. True confidence right thurrr.

Interesting perspectives with that social media dude. There's definitely major pros/cons to the comfort of your environment. I think there's a difference between an environment that is disempowering and unproductive and an environment that is challenging yet offers opportunities for growth.

Great to see you are well Cams :)

Thanks Axios. I've missed seeing you around on DDaily. Hope you're well.

I've bought that social media dude's audiobook so I'll do a review of it when I've listened to it. It might all be hot air, but he had some interesting points in the podcast that I feel are worth my following up. I'd never even heard of neo-liberalism before. Turns out it's a thing. Or is it? We shall see.

I loved what you had to say about disempowering - such a great word and applies to my situation just now. A new opportunity for potential growth has just presented itself. Universal benevolence? Maybe. But I guess the universe doesn't care too much.

I'd never even heard of neo-liberalism before.

I think there is likely a label for every thought form... and more to come as things get more sticky and complex (thank you culture) haha.

Universal benevolence? Maybe. But I guess the universe doesn't care too much.

I think the universe cares, but in the most unconditional of ways - which often feels detached and uncaring. Interestingly enough, the more detached you are, the more you can love. For if you are attached to something, then you will also likely have expectations and conditions set upon it... which may be a type of love, but not true love (which I define as unconditional love).

This has always been one of the hardest truths to accept, even as I write it down right now.

Nice video @Camuel. I really like the device that you are using. Keep rocking the pink bag. Who cares what people think. Also I love the scenery in your area.

Gimbal looks great Cam!!!! It's SO pink! It's like HOT pink. hahaha

I miss having dogs.

Getting out of comfort zones is always so hard but so rewarding!! How was the gimbal? Love the airpods

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87