Making Monsters with Snook

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)



It has been over a month since my hard drive became wiped clean of all of my files. Yes. ALL. I think I have handled losing everything I had stored on my computer pretty well. In the end, I really only have myself to blame. 'Backing up' what was on my computer to another hard drive was something that kept being put close to the bottom of the list of important items to buy. I now own a backup drive.



One of the many fatalities was 'The Mighty Carl'. I have a few Gif's of him around but not as much as I had hoped.

If you don't know who The Mighty Carl is you can watch A Mighty Carl Story to get an idea of what he was all about.



I have been slowly adding programs back on my computer over the last month. I will add a new software/hardware program. Make sure the computer and all other programs continue to run great for at least 4 days. After four days, maybe, I will think of reloading something new back onto the hard drive. This way I feel I have some control over the odyssey of working with a computer.



The question then becomes, "Why to install the game Spore next?"

The answer really is simple. The other night, while talking with a very good friend, an interesting and funny project came up to do together in our conversation. For this new project, I needed a monster. Simple, yet not so simple, when you start to realize all the '(he)art' I had just lost.

I finally did make a new monster in the game Spore. It will not be the one I use for my new project but it's a start in the right direction. I just spent the last four days wandering down memory lane and coming to terms with another loss.

If you are not creative I don't expect you to understand the bond that comes from creating something from nothing. The loss of Carl and other monsters I had made was a big blow. Again, I know it was my fault everything has been lost but it doesn't make it easier to swallow in the end.



Well, this post turned out to be rather sad, didn't it!

Sorry about that!!

I guess the story was meant to be written so it can now be free to dance in the wind.



Let us end this post on a happy note! This is the newest monster I made in the video above. She needs a name. A good name. Leave your idea's for names below and in 7 days I will do a drawing and give out 3 SBI (@steembasicincome) to the winners.


She is a cutie and had to put up with a lot over the last four day so she is a trooper too!!





YouTube for those in need




Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you and it might save their life.

Love,

Snook



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Steemgigs!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

The STEEM Engine

NUEVO.gif

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I feel your pain of losing your (he)art <33
But I guess, looking on the bright side, you have a clean slate to work with and you come with "tried and tested"
It was a joy to watch :)

How I am trying to think of it.
Thank You!! <3



Hi @snook,
@shadowspub asked me to stop by
She’d like to thank you for presenting this post
at Pimp Your Post Thursday.
She said to send 5 SHADE to your wallet
Visit steem-engine.com to see your wallet.

Carl will be missed. I think her name should be La Lea but it sounds better than how I spelled it :D Not a real name for sure. Hope you have many new wonderful memories with La Lea <3

Mighty CARL is dead???

Posted using Partiko Android

Girls say Leezy, I said Daisy, so DaLeezy?

Posted using Partiko Android

I just watched the mighty Carl. That was some trippy tale telling about a Monkey, a corncob and a bunch of steemians.

Loved it @snook, thanks for the chuckles. Just what I needed 🙂🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved watching it come to life. It has some pretty fancy moves too, including the "scary" ones 😄

This feedback was posted by kaerpediem💃🏽 through OneLoveCuration Discord Bot.

:D Thank You!!! so happy it made you smile :D

Call your monster Shirley! Shirley she must be high! LOL!! Sorry to hear about Carl...I loved that pickle guy. HUGS!

Damn that’s tough, so your computer hard drive just totally died? If you kept the hard drive you might be able to connect it externally via an enclosure and maybe recover some data off it still. Rotten luck though, back ups are a boring necessity although I tend to leave it too long between full back ups, although Apple has my back as most of my files are cloud based via iCloud. What little I use windows for I have OneDrive and store everything on that so it again lives in the cloud. I did have a vm corrupt on me which took out my Windows 10 install but it turned out no problem as the new install just pulled it all back from the cloud.

Anyway I think I know Spore but I don’t know what, I really like your dragon it reminds me of Puff the magic dragon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello @snook, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33