A day in the life of a Steemian~ Part 7

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Life, Presents and Friendship



My Mother has been widowed for the last 3.5 years. It was a very hard transition for her to go from 78 years always living with someone to living all alone.

Mom learned there are good and bad things to living alone. She did thrive once she got used to it and has kept herself very busy singing in chores, volunteering at the local Art Center, volunteering at her neighborhood community center and at her local church by bringing communion to elderly people who can not make it to church.

On top of learning to live alone, she also had to put into place safety precautions. Seven years ago she had a brain bleed while in a Hospital.

Mom coded, was revived, put on a helicopter, taken to another Hospital and had brain surgery. By all accounts, she should not have lived through what she did. Here I will say it was very touch and go if she would survive. She did live through the 'brain bleed surgery'. She should be 90% brain dead because of the severity of the brain bleed.

Mom did not die. She came back almost 100%. Her social calendar was filled enough that it made me tired just looking at it. The best part was in the last three years she was finally living a stress-free life. From the age of 78 to 81, she could finally say she was happy and mean it.



Most are aware that since December 2nd, 2018 I have been down in Florida taking care of my Mom who on November 24th, 2018 fell and broke her left hip and wrist.

To say being down here helping Mom recover has been easy on me would not be a true statement. Far from true if I am being honest. Mom has not been able to shower by herself, get dressed, cook, clean, or even think properly. It's been a long road and a long road ahead to get her able to live alone, in her house, once again, safely.

Dealing with my own health issues, being away from my home and husband, for now, eight weeks has taken it's a toll on me mentally and physically.

I have about three more weeks to go before my son and his wife come to stay with my Mom while I go home.

When I finally get home, my life that has been put on hold has still been going on while I have been here. This means good and bad things await me that right now I am trying hard not to think about. Somedays I do better than other days.

During all this time I have been away from home the people on the Steem blockchain, that I call friends, have helped me in so many ways keep sane. I am so lucky and I know this to my core.



Now let's get to the fun stuff!!



A few weeks ago @Katrina-Ariel sent me another package in the mail. I happened to check the mailbox in the morning while getting the morning newspaper for my Mom to read. Yes, there are still people that read a paper newspaper.

I wasn't expecting another package so I was very confused as to what could be inside the small yellow envelope. When I returned back to the house I was the only one up. I slowly and carefully opened the small package. To my surprise, it was filled with so much love I was overwhelmed. I still am when thinking of it and that morning.

I have been wanting to share the gifts with you all but I wanted to do the gifts justice. The thought and care Katrina took putting that care package together is beyond compare. She went above and far beyond.



Thank you @Katrina-Ariel for being YOU!



Now let's go through what was all in there.

The first piece of paper I pulled out was a beautiful poem Katrina wrote called I AM Alive. It hit home and still does each time I read it. You can read and listen to the poem/song in the post Katrina did for her Open Mic Entry Steemit Open Mic Week #117: Original Music — I Am Alive

I love this poem/song for many reasons.

One being it was when Katrina started to have more confidence in herself and try new things while editing her videos. She went out of her comfort zone and each week after has been slowing pushing her comfort zone wider and wider. That makes me happy!!



Next came a personal story about Katrina's time at Steemfest. It made me smile and once again Katrina did her best to make me feel like I was there too. You can not ask for better friends than that!!



But wait there was more in the never-ending small yellow envelope. I was reminded of a 'clown car' the way so much kept making its way out of that envelope.

This smaller envelope did crack me up and than make me cry. Katrina is the only person I know that will send you a glitter bomb and give you the warning to go outside and open it so you don't have to clean up a mess. LOL

Inside the flower petals is a rock she found in the shape of a heart. I think my heart stopped when I held it in my hand. It's rustic and beautiful to behold. If you look at it the heart is made up of many thin layers and fused together over years and years. To be the recipient of a treasure of this magnitude leaves me speechless.



The last gift in the magic envelope was addressed to my Mom. I had no idea what it was going to say. It was very sweet that she even thought of sending her something too. It shows what a huge heart Katrina has. Being a Steemian I did what anyone would do. I made Mom wait to read it so I could get it on film. The video above is the first time both Mom and I heard what Katrina had written.

I have no words to express how I feel even now but to say...


"I LOVE YOU @Katrina-Ariel!!!!"




Friendships are priceless. Kindness is golden. Acceptance is beyond compare. Hearing her words, told to my Mom, touched a part of me that will never forget.

The red moon has now gone and it's way past time I take my broken body back into bed. The story is finally told with love on an evening I will not forget.



YouTube for those in need



Make someone smile today. It can not hurt you and it might save their life.


Love,

Snook



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Steemgigs!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

The STEEM Engine

Please stop and review me if you are able

banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

tumblr_o1l9oxxDXY1u8jy4io2_400.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

THANK YOU so much for the vote and for letting me be in the pool!! I'm so sorry I am so late commenting.life has been.well life............ but wanted you to know it is very much appreciated.

Wow @katrina-ariel well done, the effect of what you've done seems eminent, it's emotional to see your mum reading that, it brings tears to the eyes

she did. she went above and beyond. Yes, very emotional each time I watch that video.

Thank YOU for stopping and taking the time to watch!!

I'm crying over here. LOL! I'm so glad the package brought you and your mother joy. That was the whole point. And yes, I'm probably the only person on earth who would warn you so the glitter bomb was enjoyed properly, and didn't add another mess to your to-do list. ;) LOVE YOU!!! Thank you for all the nice things you say about me here. Hang in there. (((hugs)))

Love You!!!

Thank you for being YOU!

Well done Katrina, proud of you

absolutely beautiful heart :) loved every moment of this! and on PYPT too hehehe

Bildschirmfoto 2019-01-21 um 13.06.59.png I was here ;)

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA :D yes, yes you were LOLLL

fb2.png

That was awesome of @katrina-ariel to send you and Moms a never ending envelope! And a warning ta boot, ahahaha!

And get some rest... orders from headquarters. ;-)

What a beautiful gesture by @katrina-ariel to brighten your day and your Mom's with these wonderful words and gifts! 🤗

she really went far beyond anything I could have imagined but then again she is our @Katrina-ariel so we should know she will always give you her whole heart.

Magic Exists.

it sure does!!!

Wonderful! This is why I love Steem 💯🐒

Like mother, like daughter. (Both beautiful and resilient.)

Katrina is an angel and a sweetheart to send that beautiful letter and gifts! I'm sure hearing how much happiness her daughter brings to people makes her feel so proud to be your mother! 💖💖💖

hmmmmm......... I don't know about that last part LOLLLLLLLLLL

:D yes, it's late at night LOLLL

Love You!

Sometimes, it is difficult life for a widow because she will always need someone to talk to and express her mind to. So bad to be alone

as we all do....... but then again some like to be alone....... Life is what you get used to.

Thank you for stopping to read and your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82