Question about security: If I enter my private STEEM key to use DTube or Busy...

in #dtube6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 11.34.35 AM.png

Will the proprietors of these websites then be able to log into or compromise the security of my Steemit account? Might be a totally newbie question to ask, but I think I'll be able to follow along and understand your answer if it's written clearly enough.

Sort:  

Hey there,
Using steemconnect should be safe.
If you are interested in the functionality: https://github.com/steemit/steemconnect/wiki/OAuth-2

The most important part is using the right keys. You should never ever use you masterkey for logging in in general.

Login should only be done with the posting key. When necessary the active key.

I hope this will help you to use Steemit safe ! :)

Thanks, security101!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87