You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation and Economic update

in #dtube6 years ago

This feature wasn't created to demotivate people from posting, at all. The feature is a protection agains't curators abuse. We have had problems in the past where some curators would favor certain authors. We don't want this to apply again.

FYI, this vote lowering thing is on the basis of 1 dtube upvote / day / person.

Sort:  

Okay thank you for clarifying! @heimindanger

So my understanding is that the bot will take into account how many votes have been given to the author that day and lower based on the quantity?

So does this reset every day? How would this affect someone who posts upwards of 2-4 times a day?

Here is the code ran by the bot for each upvote decided by curators:

https://github.com/dtube/emojibot/blob/master/upvote.js

I see @heimindanger. I see the variable malusPerVote takes into account 7 votes total, 1 per day. Then the voteWeight is determined based off of the malusPerVote taking into account additionally the cap of 10000.

So I guess I would have one suggestion and I may be alone on this but I would say adjust the algorithm on a day to day basis. Because as soon as someone makes 4 videos Monday and 3 Tuesday the remaining week is automatically lowered. I do believe this is logical but at the same time, people who produce high quality content on a consistent basis 1-3 times a day should not be forgotten about the remaining of the week.

I feel like this is a lot of progress towards keeping it fair and unbiased. All I ask is that @dtube please not forget about the high quality content creators. If people are posting consistently every day multiple times a day at a high quality, that should be rewarded. I made a video about this today regarding the interview with Ned..

Thanks for your work on DTube @heimindanger

Well, it only counts upvotes. Also, if the content is truly good, chances are multiple curators will like it and support it, and therefore you will get a higher vote.

Basically on each upvote you got last 7 days, your next upvote is reduced by -9.5%. So if you got 7 upvotes from dtube last week, your next upvote will be halved.

We believe that getting more than 1 vote a day from us to be too much. Even the best content creator in the world shouldnt get voted more than once a day by us.

Sorry if I missed it, but I think it should be a post about this topic, I heard a lot about how the distribution works, and how fair or unfair it is, or was supposed to be. Most of the people (like myself) doesn't know about this and would be a great message to send to encourage people to focus on quality and not quantity. Great work!

We have had problems in the past where some curators would favor certain authors. We don't want this to apply again.

That is so good to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23