My eco rant! Don't take this planet for granted ..

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Climate change is taking its toll on my little island, in the form of a dry spell. January and February are supposedly the rainiest months here in Bocas del Toro, and now people are running out of water to shower, drink, do their dishes, laundry etc. Plants and animals are suffering too....

Here's my little rant about it, and what I'm doing to save water at home.

Are you taking steps to lower your carbon footprint?

What do you do in your home (no matter how small your action) to be kinder to our planet?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

Great points Eve! The situation is not that bad here in this part of Mexico were we live (quite the opposite actually, our apartment got flooded pretty bad last week after a heavy tropical storm) but I also think water will be a very rare commodity in many parts of the world soon (it has already been in some) and we need to start thinking seriously about all possible ways to minimize water wasting. I love the "hack" with the bucket in shower - I actually also do it sometimes (but my girlfriend doesn´t like :D)

yes I noticed climate change manifests itself either with crazy rain and storms, or drought...although if I had to choose I would take the water =). But being floodedis no fun either...I think people will soon start fighting over water (I can already notice here how people get pissed). It's scary....

and yes the bucket is a great idea! I wanted to put one under the kitchen sink too, but was afraid to break a pipe...lol

Yeah, the weather patterns have been changing like crazy all over the world. Even in my tiny inland Czech homeland, we have been witnessing some disturbing weather phenomena in the recent years... This thing is real and only silly people (like certain presidents, cough cough, for example) can try to deny it.

LOL you know I think he just pretends to be dumb...I'm sure he does believe in climate change and pretends not to, in order to appeal to the stupid crowd and make money with fossil fuels...it's all part of his plan lol

Well, if he only pretends to be dumb, he has been doing a fantastic job :D

LOL the best!

We've had nothing but rain here all week, so I do really wish I could bottle it up and send it to you! The way we eat is a huge help as CAFO's are one of the biggest contributing factors to climate change, but as I learn more and more I try to change other habits, as well. We collect rain water for the garden, and @dksart even set up a watering system to make his job even easier. The days of the week that I don't work out I try to go without a shower if I can since that's actually supposed to be better for your skin anyway. My biggest push personally right now is to continue to cut down on my waste from food and other products (trash). We compost, but it is still a challenge sometimes to buy things that come minimally packaged. Every little bit helps, but I want to keep pushing to the next little bit to do my part!

oh wow girl you are doing a lot! That's amazing! I'm unable to go without a shower here because of the heat, but I try to take 1 instead of 2 (normally I would take one in the morning and evening), and now I take one only. If I know I'm gtoing to workout, of course I reserve it for that =). Also, washing my hair takes a lot more water to rinse the shampoo...so I try to limit that to once every 3 days (which is also hard because it's hot!). Actually the bucket which collects the condensation from our AC is giving us tons of water! I have been collecting it to water my plants or flush, and it's been a huge help. It's not safe for drinking though...

That's great that the AC is helping at least keep your plants alive! My hair I think is the toughest thing. Even with it not being as hot as where you are, if I want to wear my hair down it has to be clean. I know some people say that you need to wean yourself off of washing it frequently and it will adapt, but since for most of my work I need to be in front of clients I can't quite bring myself to go through the greasy stage, haha! I do have a bit of vanity. 🤣🤣

Here we flush the toilet (yellow stuff even) with drinking water. The privileges we take for granted.

yeah that's crazy! They should make toilets automatically in a waythat they are connected to grey water outlts, like sinks, showers etc...

You got a 16.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hey,

I would like to invite you to @APPICS as one of the first APPICS app testers!
APPICS is a new blockchain based social media application launching in Q2 this year. Similar to Steemit, users can earn cryptocurrency tokens for posting creative content, but different to Steemit, APPICS will be focusing on photos or videos instead of blogposts. With the APPICS app we give users the power to monetize time and creativity they spend on social media.

The app is currently in beta mode, running on the STEEM blockchain, so you can easily log in with your username and your private posting key as your password.

If you´re interested in joining APPICS, please send us an email at [email protected] with your Steemit username and the device you’re using.

Feel free to visit our website Appics.com for further information.

I‘m looking forward to hear from you!

Best wishes,

Lisa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34