Time To Check In and Collect and Organize Thoughts.

in #dtube5 years ago

Dear Steemit, I write you once again with an update to preserve my sanity:

So since my last posts and video publishes I have worked to get more done. I've noticed that people seem to truly like when I do reviews of Linux distributions by the only metric we have on Dtube/Steemit, upvotes or comments.

My Ubuntu vs. Mint video is by far the most interaction with a video I've had anywhere, but the recent MX-Linux video got over 200 thumbs up as well, so I want to try to cater to that audience.

I had planned to test and review Qubes OS, the security-focused Linux system that uses virtualization to divide your system into separated "Qubes". It's a really interesting project, but I can't just run it as a VM on my workstation. This is a perfect opportunity to test out my new capture-card, so I set up another desktop and installed it, but haven't been able to get it to run aside from one single time.

After testing my hardware, and re-creating the installation media using an older version as was suggested by a Qubes user, hopefully I'll be recording that tonight or tomorrow.

My next project, was to test and review Inferno OS, which was created by Bell Labs as a modern evolution of their UNIX operating system. I encountered trouble once again, as you have to compile the system before using it. I have missing dependencies, but luckily I've discovered hackish work around's that I will try, but I'll make no guess as to when I'll be able to finish that video.

I plan to record a video about the Minds decentralized crypto-social media platform, and a tutorial about using it. Should be recorded tonight.

Still working on the video focused on using my Android phone as my recording/editing studio. I'm actually very excited about it, and I hope people will find it worth watching. It's taking a while because I'm purposely adding complexity to show off Android's capabilities, not to mention it's impractical enough to record audio and video separately, using a USB camera AND USB condenser mic.

Anyways, look forward to any thoughts, appreciate you guys. Also if you have any videos you'd like me to see, don't hesitate to leave them in a comment.

Regards, Jay(DS-Tech Media)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25