Shchedryk (Carol of the Bells) + Snowflake animation video: Ukrainian traditional Christmas Carol

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Click the cover to listen on DSOUND or scroll down for youtube mirror

The music of this famous Christmas carol as we know it today was first published in 1916 by Ukrainian composer, teacher and choral conductor Leontovych and was heavily inspired in pre-Christian folk chants and much older arrangements. The original song, known as Schchedryk sings about a bird foretelling wealth after Winter. And it had nothing to do with bells ;-) The song was later adapted into English as most know it.

My version is lyricless and just instrumental with choir because as I felt unsure to pronounce the original Ukrainian and most common English translation is not yet in Public Domain. Thus my version has no words. Vocals start on the second half doing choirs. I did all the instrumentation and voices in one afternoon barely a few days before Christmas a few years ago as I have been doing a short Christmas special for the last four years (plotting what I'll do for this one, but will be sharing the ones released so far during December)

Credits in this version: Arrangements by Priscilla Hernandez as well as piano, vocals, chalumeau, flute, chimes, bells, mixing and mastering. Short and sweet it barely lasts one minute.

This is a song I associate with winter, Yuletide (the closing of the year) season and first snow and thus we chose snowflakes to dance along with the music. You can listen to it with an animated video of snowflakes falling and pulsing in synch with the music that @hedac made for me:

Click above to listen/watch video while you read. You can listen to this song on dsound or CHOON

Carol of the Bells comes from the Ukranian Shchedryk which is inspired also in older traditional folk songs

The original version"Shchedryk" (means "Bountiful Evening" in Ukranian) released in 1916 and is also known as "The little Swallow". Original song, despite being a Yule (end of the year) song, had nothing to do with the later Christmassy lyrics about Bells. . It was composed by Mykola Leontovych (1877-1921) who was a renown teacer and conductor of A cappella Choral Music and besides his own original interpreations specialized in arranging already existing folk Ukrainian music too (the signature motif of four-note melody over a minor third of the chant is typical in many of his compositions). This early version that was my inspiration tells a story of a swallow flying into a household to sing of wealth and riches the following Spring would provide.

What about the bells?

"Shchedryk" was later adapted as an English Christmas carol "Carol of the Bells" (because he thought the motif sounded like bells) by Peter J. Wilhousky following a performance of the original song by Alexander Koshetz's Ukrainian National Chorus at Carnegie Hall on October 5, 1921 (copyrighted by him in the thirties) and it became since associated with Christmas. My version is instrumental though and inspired by the earlier works original music by Leontovych (1916) that was heavily inspired by already existing folk chants he loved to arrange and adapt.

snowflake yidneth Priscilla Hernandez yule - by Héctor Corcín.jpg

I do a Christmas special every year and open to recommendations for this one: Recommend your favourite Christimas/Yuletide Music

For the last few years I have been doing Xmas specials, they're always short and sweet, barely over a minute. Sometimes a traditional Christmas song and sometimes original ones or covers from Xmas movies. This was the first one I made, and this year will be the fourth Xmas special. All 3 Xmas specials done so far : Carol of the Bells (Traditional), Winter Night (Original) and "The Closing of the Year" will be shared during December and I will also share remastered mp3 for my patrons at patreon.com/yidneth.

Meanwhile as I have yet to do this year special... open for your recommendations...

Which are your favourite Yuletide/Christmas season songs?

snowflake.jpg

I prefer old traditional / Public domain ones for obvious reasons... but still open to listen to all your recommendations :)

Stay tuned as I will be sharing some Christmas related songs and posts during December (I am a December Child after all)

All pictures of myself taken last winter and wearing a custom-made snowflake pendant courtesy of Ronafly Creations.

Networks


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Magical @yidneth, your art is the beauty in every season. Thank you for opening the doors of a marvelous world!

Hey, @eveningart...I thought you may like to visit this fabulous place!

Beautiful tune, Pris, even without any voice I enjoyed listening to what you created. And the post is so full of information too, the quality of your blog is always top notch! I enjoyed looking and listening ^_^.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I am gonna dwell for a second on the beautiful production! It was fantastic! Well done :)

Aww thanks, recorded all onnmy own in one single day, been doin xmas specials last few years, but I like this more instrumental vibe.

This is my very favorite Christmas song! Loved the snowflakes in the video, which played for me!

Thank you, I'm uploading other two Xmas Carols the following days, I do one every year, always shorter versions almost as greeting cards... I'm yet to decide which one I'll do this year, I'm torn between doing an original or give a spin to a classic again.

I vote for an original... :)) Those are what I prefer...

This is my favorite christmas carol of all time, I was not aware of the pagan origins :) And likem@katrina-ariel I would love a full length version beautifully done love

Even if it's just one minute, I love the dreamy music and that snowflake video by @hedac. I truly admire the dedication you show in each and every post, @yidneth; this is another great one 😍 For a moment I thought you made a mistake, but it's really spelled "Schchedryk" with the double "ch"; I chchecked 😉

Sorry I can't help with a suggestion for this year's Christmas special; there's this old Christmas pop-song that starts with a swelling sound of bells, is sung by a single female singer and was just dreamy... but I can't find it and don't remember what the song or singer were called... It'm maddening!

Ah well, doesn't matter; I have a new favorite now :-) Thanks so much for another beautiful post! 💜

Thank you so much for listening. Where did you find the spelling, wikipedia, translator and all sources I find spell it that way in fact the transcript of the original lyric is

(not expert on Ukrainian) but that's how it's spelled everywhere I've looked it for and on the print I have of the words.
Shchedryk shchedryk, shchedrivochka,
pryletila lastivochka,
stala sobi shchebetaty,
hospodarya vyklykaty

Well if it's a pop song sure it's modern and copyrighted, and I'm really aiming for old public domain ones... I only made a cover last year of a very rare one , all the xmassy ones are short and just made as little Xmas Greetings cards, but they're fun for me to make

I'm thinking of Holy Night (which is Public Domain) or maybe an original piece as I did with Winter Night

LOL! I made two mistakes: one, I mis-read you. I really saw it as "Schchedryk", where you wrote "Shchedryk" obviously. Even after reading your reply, I had to look twice to see the error of my ways; it's funny how it's sometimes difficult to "un-see" something... 😋

As to the chchecking, I found this as the first hit in Google, after entering the wrongly spelled search-term:

Not very thorough research, I know. My second mistake was not paying attention to Google's auto-correct suggestion; it actually suggests the way you spelled it originally... Glad you corrected me there. 😊

And I think Holy Night is perfect, but would love to see an original as well. I'm sure both would result in something beautiful though 💖

Carol of the Bells is my favorite!!! So beautiful, thank you for this gift. 💞 I’d love a full length version.

Well I tend to do these special short and sweet usually one minute up to two but no longer, more like Xmas greetings cards, they're not meant to be official or anything just sent each year to my friends on the phone :) so I'll be sharing the ones I've done so far while I try to figure out this year's. I'm still recovering from the sf3flu it was cold gone to bronchitis gone to pneumonia and now with rib pain due to immflamation so no much singing still possible :( hahah which annoys me tons cos I need to confirm tomorrow if I might be able to make a Xmas concert precisely... still 25 days to recover LOL hahaha

Oh my! Take care of you!! This is lovely as it is. Really beautiful and I can just put it on repeat. 😉 Love you! Rest and heal, my friend. 💞🤗💞

Wonderful post as always, you bring such a unique tone into the Christmas spirit <3

If it only make people kinder (and a few grumpier) or both, I like the spirit of the season.

Excellent post, you are a great artist of first quality, it is amazing all this, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14