At the Dreams Door: A song about the last thouht before falling sleep + Art I made for it

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

https://dsound.audio/#!/@yidneth/20181012t163927380z-priscilla-hernandez-at-the-dreams-door

This is a song about the last thing we think of before falling sleep. Ethereal and almost a soothing lullaby yet full of yearning and longing. All the drawings included in the post also made by myself for the song as it was featured in my illustrated music book The Underliving (http://theunderliving.com)

It's about the last thought before you fall sleep

Oh please do not forget me... I dread to think I'll cease to exist!

That perfect melody, that perfect idea, that perfect picture...
waiting to become alive and not to be forgotten once you enter into the world of Dreams
The song is "sung from the point of the view of that idea" as if it were an entity itself... Because "The Underliving" is a term I invented for things that are living but not alive, things that somehow have a presence that can be perceived and stir feelings in us.

Have you ever heard music just in between Sleep and Awareness...? Many times I've heard songs but then I wake up and I'm unable to to hum it any longer...
It's gone...

Morning Light - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Sometimes if strong enough aThought at the Dream's Door can come again, it can knock again... and if it does.... don't ignore it... don't deny the possibility of what it could become

Make it live!

Stream Mirror in Choon

Lyrics

Priscilla Hernandez sleeping yidneth - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Oh please... please... do not forget me
I dread to think I'll cease to exist
Please, please... do not discard me
I know somehow I shall persist
‘Cause I cannot hatch into that
ominous barren land
where you rid of all the things
that your mind has banned
Will I emerge as butterfly
into the vibrant daylight?
or am I doomed to be the moth
as colourless as before?
just like a thought that dies
at the dreams door
So grab me,
you know I'm not meant to last
Then plot me
and make me live
So grab me,
you know I'm not meant to last
Then plot me
and make me live
´Cause I cannot stay within
this motionless netherworld
within my chrysalis cold
Like a thought that dies
at the dreams door
that dies at the dreams door
I could have been all that I’m not anymore
So grab me,
you know I’m not meant to last
Then plot me and make me live
So please... please... do not forget me!

This song appeared in my second album and I've played it live countless times with different structures and arrangements... It's a very simple song... kind of bittersweet and full of longing.

So Plot me and Make me Live!

Will I emerge as butterfly into the vibrant daylight...
or am I doomed to be a moth as colourless as before?

Moth in lamp - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Moths are recurrent in my lyrics.... I'm a little obsessed about them and their symbology

So next time you're struck but that brilliant idea and you feel like your mind is facing into the Dream's Door...
Wake up...
Write it down.... Record it... Hum it... Draft it...

Plot me... and make me live

moth princess - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-2.jpg

Make it see the light


My social network / Mis redes sociales

Official site

http://yidneth.com

Networks


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

I love you, truly, and so love these creations you bring to life. This one is beautifully inspiring! Yes, I've written songs in my dreams.... usually I forget them, but on occasion I can bring a snippet into waking time.

I adore this song and what it represents. Listening to it again right now. I often go to sleep with a distant dream in my mind, something that seems impossible yet brings me such joy. YES to weaving these dreams into reality!!! For me, right now, that is the dream of performing at Steemfest3. How dearly I'd love to share that experience with you, Pris. Massive hugs, my friend!

You just gave new meaning to the words "a fleeting thought" :-) I should try to hang on to my dreams better; I never remember them longer than a few minutes; I should plot them in that time, make a note, record it on voice, or something...

Thanks for reminding me about forgetting my dreams @yidneth, and in such a beautiful wat too <3

What a beautiful comment, thanks. I dream rather vividly and tend to remember them. Still some thoughts at the Dream's door escaped, and they were beautiful.

Peaceful and beautiful, what a wonderful post that lifted my spirit when I look at it :).

oh I'm glad you found it inspiring and thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it!

So ethereal and joyful. Thank you for taking me on this mystical ride and flowing experience. And I love your use of moth/butterfly imagery, it's always an interesting element to me as well.

I love this line so...

Then plot me and make me live

Awww thanks for such lovely compliment. Yes, a thought sometimes is like inside a crysalis, it is not yet what it is meant to be until it emerges into the light, until it is given a shape

I used to have a dictation machine next to my bed to record things that slipped in like that . I have to be careful though because I tend to hear music a lot in everyday things it used to be so invasive I had to learn how to calm my mind. It is why I seldom have music just running in my home, if I listen to music it is deliberate and with purpose. I need a lot of quiet around me or I tend to get overburdened by sensory input from without and within.

Perfect again! very nice voice and great .. I enjoyed it.. thank you dear @yidneth

Thank you so much, I'm really happy you liked it :)

Just beautiful! You make everything magical. You amaze me with your songs like this. <3

Aww thank you for the complimnt 💕💕😘, song was born itself as a thought at the dreams door I guess.

Dsound doesn't really like me for some reason. But it's okay it's on my Spotify now and I'm sure most if not all your other ones will follow eventually XP

The article has two mirrors, one on soundcloud and one on choon, includes the art I made for the song mostly 🎼


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks always for your support and the support to all steemit bloggers

You are always so amazing, Priscilla <3 And your posts are full with magic and always lift me up from the dreary of my days... <3 < 3 <3

Thanks so much for the lovely compliment, so are you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44