NAKD - VURN

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I created this track a couple of years ago when I have been in the mood to explore more of my darker sounds. At this time it didnt fit in the whole concept of "Theatre Of Delays" - disco/dance attitude. A few of you might notice the samples i used in this track.. Yes.. they are from the title song of “Ghost in the shell” composed by “Kenji Kawai”. One interesting thing about the original is that i got a lot inspired by bulgarian/slavic-choirs (which i love a lot)

Here a quote of an interview:

“There is a haunting female chorus that appears in the intro of both Ghost in the Shell films. Was there a particular motivation behind finding this sound that so many viewers associate with the films?

At first the director had requested primitive drum sounds. I felt it would be even more effective if there were a chorus on top of it, something in a Bulgarian style. There are folk singers with very distinctive voices in Japan, and that's who we found for the vocal roles.

It turned out to be quite different from my original concept of a Bulgarian style. This vocal section was extremely challenging to get right because Japanese folk songs traditionally do not have a chorus. They aren't set to these particular rhythms, either.

Directly after the movie was released I noticed no one mentioned the music. That made me a little worried. Now that I think about it, I guess no one could critique it because it was such an unusual kind of music that no one had ever heard before. Innocence was basically a direct continuation of Ghost in the Shell, so I retained almost the exact same style.”

Read the full interview here:
gamasutra.com/view/news/118295/Interview_Kenji_Kawai_Talks_Unique_Video_Game_Film_Soundtrack_Experiences.php

This is the original:
youtube.com/watch?v=q0z08OpmEPc

it and check out the whole E.P. on bandcamp:

nakdmusic.bandcamp.com/album/nakd-part-1


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Spooky but also soothing. Another dope track

Not too dark but super haunting vibes. Digging your sound @theatreofdelays

Great instrumental, nice production !

Oh this is goooood! Alright I'm a sucker for anything GITS related but still, this really good.

Wow hat off ;D sounds fantastic am dowloading now ;D

This does have a haunting feel, not familiar with the sample you mention, but thme I am not familiar with samples at all! Nice build and great atmosphere creation.

Great track, the voices remind me a lot of some of Kate Bush's more experimental work. It's a sound I like a lot.

The Dark Side is strong with this one...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84