You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5: Self-Publishing: Cheap and Easy Passive Income for Life - The Candid Cashflow Podcast | Entrepren

in #dsound6 years ago

I didn't really consider the marketing stuff when I was starting out. I was all starry eyes over publishing my own book. haha I have since learned that self-publishing means you are the author, marketing company, publishing company, and other numerous hats in this realm.

It just *sounds scary. Don't let that stuff intimidate you.

I advocate for writing and publishing in a niche you are passionate about since you will be living and breathing it for an unforeseen amount of time. If you are interested in your subject, then you will naturally be plugged into that community online and that is one of the biggest marketing tactics there is.

You can't really hire someone to be passionate for you. If you have built a following, your tribe is going to want to hear from YOU, not your Virtual Assistant.

I have a friend who is 95% profitable in her publishing business. She just wrapped Q4 and said sales were so good she doesn't even have to work this year to survive. She does ZERO marketing.

It's Dale's wife...the guy I mention in this episode. Check out his stuff. He knows some amazing tips and tricks.

I suggest publishing through Amazon outside of Draft2Digital. Also, publish to Google Play Books. The rest you can handle with Draft2Digital so you're on Barnes & Noble and iBooks. Amazon is the big one though with 75% of the market share on eBooks.

Let me know if I can help in any way. I am happy to answer your questions. The best course of action is to just do it.

Sort:  

Thanks for the info and encouragement. Still not sure what my audience looks like. Most of "what comes out" is genre-defying. I am currently working on something I'm trying to finish this week. I'll look more into Dale's tips.

BTW it looks like Draft2Digital does publish work on Amazon.

Yes, D2D DOES publish to Amazon, but I encourage you to go THROUGH Amazon rather than D2D for Kindle and paperback on Amazon...you'll have more control over your books, royalties, and promotional strategies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17