You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Running' - 100 Day Poetry Contest Day 6 [With Spoken Word Audio]

in #dsound7 years ago

Wow, that is brilliant. Now is that a poem or a rap? can anyone tell me what the difference is? I love the way you change format several times throughout.
Resteemed.
Nick

Sort:  

Aww thank you so much man! I really appreciate the resteem, and your incredibly kind words!

To me - In it's loosest definition, Poetry is like an umbrella term that encompasses lots of sub-genres - Spoken Word / Song Lyrics / Rap / MCing / Literature -

To define it, I would say Poetry is any kind of arrangement of words that was written with a purpose or intention.

Of course, that is a broad definition.

If I had to put a label on this I'd say it's more 'Spoken Word' than a 'Poem', and I wouldn't call it 'Rap' because it wasn't written with the intention to go with a structured beat.. it was written to be spoken and played with however the space feels right - something you can't do when rapping over a beat, as there is the rules of musical timings to stick to.

That's my thoughts on it all any hows! People are free to consider it whatever they feel is the most fitting term, for me on this piece, it's spoken word...

Or the ramblings of a crazy man :P

Either way...

It's something.

Thanks so much for listening, commenting and resteeming man... it really means a lot to me.

And great question too!

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65749.81
ETH 2665.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86