Solid Grounds – Original Music by @muphy - Latino-hiphop-electro-Pop

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



One afternoon, in Rotterdam, I was setting up equipment in a bar: with a friend of mine, we were preparing to jam there for a few hours. I also had set up a recorder to have a trace of our performance.

There was something in the air… like if the atmosphere was full of tiny invisible sparks. Yes, the ambiance was electric. So I also recorded the ambiance before we played…

Back home, I played the ambiance sound of the bar in my DAW, and it hit me straight away. I needed horns! And an intro beat followed by punch explosion! The electricity had to get out!

Playing around like this, with vocal samples, the buffer effect I presented in a previous music post, improvising on a piano, fiddling on a polysix for the bass sound, designing some groovy synth licks… basically fooling around with ideas, often leads to cool tracks like this one.

I produced this music in my DAW of choice, Reason, making a heavy use of the Thor for the synth sounds. Even though it is a really basic instrument, it is so versatile! Whatever style I am working on, I very often end up using Thor instead of the fancy super synths that make you full blown tracks by the touch of a button haha!

And when I finalize a project like this, I really enjoy the part where I add ear candy by designing cool sound effects or arranging punchy transition. Check out the number of tracks that I ended up having to mix together (the mix was pain, lol)!

If you have the possibility, listen to the track on good speakers or headphones, there are a lot of funky details to uncover!

I hope you enjoy the effervescent latino electro hiphop pop fusion piece that came out of this!

I’m @muphy (see intro post),

My life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.

You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!


► Listen on DSound
Sort:  

I really want to hear this, but I will wait until I am in my workshop where I have some half decent speakers. This laptop will probably just pick two or three of those tracks you've mixed and drop all the other sounds altogether! haha

Yes, it is quite a busy track! If the speakers are really bad, it might just produce white noise lol! Actually I try to mix so that it works at at best on all speaker types, so that someone used to crap laptop speakers will still get afeel for the track.
Let me know how it sounds on your half decent speakers!

just listened on some only half-decent headphones but the sound was incredible! Amazing track my friend, the vibe was totally rocking. It would be an asset to ANY party :D

Cheers. I am glad you felt the excitment vibe!
Many others on the way... :-)
Not all in punch mode though. Some neo-classical, wild ethnic electro, orchestral techno, Soft electrogoa with indian chants, and many other improbable fusions that will rock your head!

it sounds delightful. I will simply have to indulge.....

Good thing we have computers, eh?

Can you imagine mixing those by tape?
8 tracks per tape, so you have like 5 reels going there.

haha, I am old enough to have played a couple of years with these until very soon, digital multitrack recorders came out. I actually switched to full computer set up only around the late 2000s!

I was listening to some of my old stuff recently, and believe it or not, even if the sound was not as good and punchy as today, the composition themselves were pretty good, maybe better than what I do today.

Conclusion: Being limited by the tools at your disposal is the best way to progress and create great music. Actually, I am barely buying anything now... I stick with what I have in order to challenge creativity!

Another beautiful track wow :D you are hitting the jamm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23