The Horror of Our Ways (Minimal Mix)

in #dsound5 years ago


The Horror of Our Ways turned out to be a pretty popular dark ambient track. The more I listened to it, however, the more I wondered what it would sound like stripped of all the effects and automation.

So I re-visited the original track and stripped away all the samples and most of the effects, including the reverse-track effect that created the original's signature sound, leaving only a piano, mandolin, guitar, reverb, and reverb. (Reverb is listed twice because there are two of them.) This necessitated some re-mixing and re-mastering, so the levels aren't exactly the same as the original.

I wasn't really surprised by the result. It was as I suspected: stripped down to an almost-unplugged level, the song still packs the same (if not more) emotional impact. It's still depressing as hell, but it does get a bit repetitive without the heavily manipulated samples between the guitar sections. Those samples were put there for a reason. Without them, this "minimal" version could do with a trim (by as much as 50%), but I chose to keep the length the same as the original for comparison purposes.

You can stream the original version here: https://choon.co/tracks/0l2mlvc8hzo/the-horror-of-our-ways/

So which one do you like better?

If you have trouble listening on dsound you can listen on the following platforms:

Choon: https://choon.co/tracks/10lymup3en/the-horror-of-our-ways-minimal-mix/
Musicoin: https://musicoin.org/embedded-player/0x8df2e5525f06d575f1fbc287ce5d72f16dcf4304

FOLLOW iconDARK:

More about iconDARK:

I like what I like; I make what I make.

My electronic instrumentals range from eerie dark ambient to rock-influenced electronica to bass-heavy breakbeat. I refuse to limit myself to just one subgenre. The one unifying thread throughout my work stems from my lifelong love of imaginative fiction, horror movies, and tales of the paranormal… all of which make their way into the titles and themes of my music.

This post was generated for free from


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.38
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 69632.42
ETH 3496.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.84