The Great Machine: Labyrinth of Ash

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Genre: Dark Ambient / Soundscape

"Far below the Great Machine’s burning throat sprawls the Ashen Labyrinth, an iron maze that collects and funnels the never-ending rain of ash, embers, and debris into its dark corridors. The Labyrinth has no origin, no exit, no heart from which escape might be won. It is as old as the Great Machine itself. Some say it is far older, that it is all that remains of some previous Creation that met its end in down the scalding Throat of some prior Great Machine."

The Great Machine is a series of dark ambient tracks based on background material for a novella that I wrote a long time ago... back when I fancied myself a horror writer. "Labyrinth of Ash" is the fourth of the series. The "rain of debris" that plays throughout consists of approximately twelve recorded ambient sounds*. The timing is programmed but the pitches, as well as what sound plays at which time, is random... meaning that if I were to export this song again from my DAW, it would sound different. The song that you hear is totally unique and can never be reproduced exactly... a concept that I fully intend to explore again in other tracks.

*only one of the sounds was recorded by me.

If you have trouble listening on dsound you can listen on the following platforms:

Choon: choon.co/tracks/0aom8zishbo/the-great-machine-labyrinth-of-ash

FOLLOW iconDARK:

icondark.com

twitter.com/iamicondark

icondark.bandcamp.com

soundcloud.com/icondark

open.spotify.com/artist/6d1V3auz4z3WMSNuX54gvR

reverbnation.com/icondark

bit.tube/iconDARK

steemit.com/@icondark

youtube.com/channel/UC3hcE_319xaFZFkgQoBdoBA

whaleshares.io/@icondark

More about iconDARK:

I like what I like; I make what I make.

My electronic instrumentals range from eerie dark ambient to rock-influenced electronica to bass-heavy breakbeat. I refuse to limit myself to just one subgenre. The one unifying thread throughout my work stems from my lifelong love of imaginative fiction, horror movies, and tales of the paranormal… all of which make their way into the titles and themes of my music.

(This post was generated via AtomCollectorRecords.com)


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Congratulations @icondark! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85