"PASSENGERMAN" - Trk 2: American Modular by DRUMOPERATOR

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I've been working on this head knodding experimental electro patch for two straight days! A continuous stream of complications (courtesy of trying to accomplish this on the road) kept me from properly capturing it on three separate equations, but I can't help but feel this piece benefitted from the repeated tries in the end. By time time I finally captured it in the van enroute from St. Louis to Lexington, KY, I knew every possible point of modulation and expression and had the mix and modulation pretty good and dialed in.

P1040236.jpg

The whoomping, sidechain-esque dubstep-y bass stuff? Once again Mangroves, using the Air and Formant inputs as modulation and filtration respectively. The latin bell sounds? Plaits, doing it's best impression of Mutable Instruments Rings. The beat? Straight MachineDrum samples in my Pico drum, a nonsensical stream of Basimillus hihat noise and looping delay on the clouds. Always fun to use experimentally setup patches and try and bend it towards melody and head knod ... I think this one accomplished that goal, especially considering it was in my lap in a moving vehicle for six hours while I tried to perform it!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Your passion for music is really amazing. Have been supporting your posts with my upvotes for some time. With your passion, you are making steemit a place not just only for cryptocurrency but a place that musicians as well as artists can find a place too. Will continue my support for you!

Thank you friend. I have infact noticed you consistently throwing upvotes my way and it is not unappreciated!! Have tried to swing by your page and return the favor as much as possible and will continue to do so.

Could you maybe like... stop making me want to sell all my gear and buy eurorack? I'm constantly shocked at how much you get out of your system and how musical it normally seems to be. I feel like a broken record, but impressive stuff.

Dude I am sorry but you are already subconsciously hooked in! As far as musicality goes, I’m definately making a concerted effort to straddle the line between left and right brain approaches...generative melody with vicious editing or a composed melody with fully generative voicing mangling it into something else.

Awesome! Something to be said about having modern battery powered gear!

I wish! The laptop is the only thing running off batteries....the modular and recording stuff is running off an inverter in the van.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98