"-KEEP HUSTLIN'!- "- Track 4 - Original Driving Modular Synth Electronic

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


One of the trickiest things in a clocked modular environment is making drums feel human and organic. Sequenced synths are exceptionally good at putting notes on grids, but making something breathe with a pulse can be comically difficult. Not so today. After a mercilessly long mixing session in the studio, I wanted to try and make the most human drumbeat I could possibly make. This jam is one live pass. Two outputs, no additional mixing or effects. This is exactly what the modular spit out at 4am, and I'm still buzzing on it today.


I digress. Organic drums! To serve this end, I patched up the Noise Engineering Basimilus and Erica PicoDrum into my bitcrusher. Although I was initially going for some simple grainy darkness, I quickly discovered that modulating the bitrate on the bitcrusher with long LFOs resulted in a pushing and pulling to the groove that I was instantaneously all about. The rest of the track filled in quickly: new mvp oscillator Plaits is on arpeggiation duty with subtle modulation from the same LFO and Mangrove once again comes through as a mono bass oscillator. All that leaves is the Battles-esque lead, which is one of my goto sounds and is easily accomplished by overdriving the E440 filter with a high resonance and low cutoff.
IMG_2480.JPG
Keep hustlin folks. I cleaned up the entire studio at 4am with this track blasting, and I encourage you to do something simliar. I'd recommend a more reasonable starting hour, however. Feel free to download and use on your DLive stream or DTube video!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I feel you on humanizing drums. It's rough. James Holden made a really great Max For Live device a few years back that seems to solve that problem, I wonder if it can be used for timing in regards to a modular setup. Either way I get the feeling it might interest you. https://www.ableton.com/en/blog/james-holden-human-timing/

I’M GOING TO BUY A BOX WITH WIRES!

I have no idea what they’ll do but I’m having them.

Fine choice!! Welcome to the matrix.

yeah nice a little bit punchy drums

Hello brother, you are very impressive your music is very beautiful to be heard .. I really like it.
I just posted the latest can you see me my brother.

Excellent, thanks you for info ))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86