Ashen midst-urn

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

Ashen midst-urn

.
original music
with video
.
by @d-pend


ashen-midst-urn-article-thumbnail.jpg


Check out the video below:



Or to access audio alone:

► Listen on Soundcloud

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Notes

I believe I've mentioned that I'm quite out-of-practice on the piano these days. I decided to let everyone along for the ride of "getting my chops back" (I don't intend to practice a whole lot, but a little each day.) So, instead of being perfectionistic, I decided to make a 'finished' product out of what was, admittedly, a quite imperfect improvisation made in one pass on the keyboard. There are several time glitches that I had to accommodate while making the beatbox part. This creation is also a tribute to my ol' trusty Blue Snowflake microphone, which has lasted me all this time quite well, because I've just upgraded to a Blue Yeti. Voice and beatbox recording quality will thus be much higher from here forward.

Stylistically, well, it's jazz, spontaneous but not entirely 'free' as it's anchored to 135 BPM (though I'm afraid it fluctuates substantially at times.) [The tuning is A=444 hz.] Anyone who knows me well knows that I'm much more comfortable creating extemporaneously than systematically planning things out. Theoretically though, one could take any number of moments from any longer improvisation, transcribe it, modify and develop it in various ways, and create one or several pieces. I believe that's why I love art so much—any creation is a microcosm of the whole, and as such, holds basically infinite potential for further creation. That aspect of art can also be quite maddening, as there may not be any sensation of something ever truly being "finished."

The video, also, was a major part of the experiment. I took the waveforms from the piano part (top line) and the beatbox part (bottom line, zoomed out a bit further) from the Garageband display and screen-recorded them, mixing them with the frustratingly inadequate capacities of iMovie. It's perhaps best to watch on not full-screen mode, or get some distance from the monitor when watching because it can be a bit vertigo-inducing. There are a bunch of subtle ambient sounds taken from my everyday life that make slight appearances through the piece as well, though they aren't displayed because I only had 2 simultaneous videos to work with in iMovie.

To improve this piece would mean to perhaps learn many of the improvisation's parts, make a bass part, double the kick and snare of the beatbox part or re-record it with my new and better microphone, add other musical parts, etc. However, I believe it's at a point now that satisfies the original impetus that drove me to create it, so I'll be returning to complete "Screen-havened hell redeemed" and another two-weeks-now-in-progress-piece called "Chimetron."

Conclusion

Coming to terms with one's limitations and still determining to create is an everyday act of courage. Sharing one's art is an act of vulnerability and faith. I hope you enjoy this piece and would love to hear your feedback in the comments. Also, if you don't mind, I'd really appreciate it if you'd like the video on YouTube and subscribe to my YouTube channel, which I'm going to be building gradually. Once I get 100 subscribers I can choose a custom channel name, which would be really helpful. Some days, I may upload content there when I'm too drained to write a whole blog post, so you can see it first if you subscribe :-) In fact, this video was finished and uploaded 2 days ago until I just now got around to writing this post!

Thanks as always for the love, support, and understanding:

@d-pend

P.S.

Ah, the title? If analyzed lucidly, it's quite self-explanatory; not at all abstract! Surely, I need not take any more of your time explaining. Besides, it's the sort of thing best left to the imagination, prone to becoming horribly mundane if thoroughly expounded :-D


dark-smear.jpg


writing, images,
audio and video
created by @d-pend
.
1/17/19



mundane-hyperspace.jpg


Sort:  

"Ashen midst-urn" contains rhythms that invite you to tap dance. I feel that, in turn, this zapateo is related to what is implicit in the musical message: to travel through life, to live it is not a one-way journey only . There are pauses in the way, regressions and countermarches that accentuate the steps, according to the dancer and his partner, if he has one. The title reminds me of the phrase: "ashes to ashes and dust to dust", frequent in funeral services, which reminds me of the cyclical transit of life on earth and the contained hope that there is no end, nothing ends in reality, only transforms.
The video illustrates the movements of music and life in the parallelism of the waves. Some go, others come, go back, come back, start the march again. Sometimes, they are coupled; other times, simply, each one recovers its initial rhythm, as well as the intensity.
For your talented being, I blow soul kisses from within my being. I embrace you infinitely, Daniel.

Sorry I caught this post a little late @dpend,

My son says this reminds him of Charlie Brown. It's just the kind of music we listen to when we try to focus. My older son said, "Dad, somebody is spit-boxing to jazz."

It is painstaking but important decision to build your youtube channel.

Beautiful end.

Worth the listen.

Music is the expression of the soul. For a moment I closed my eyes and transported myself away from me. I like it.

@d-pend,

That's actually pretty darn good ... easy listening Jazz. Towards the middle, I really started getting into the rhythm ... I became a mellow fellow. :-)

Quill

Hello @d-pend, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coming to terms with one's limitations and still determining to create is an everyday act of courage. Sharing one's art is an act of vulnerability and faith.

This describes life and humanity.

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.249 which ranks you at #798 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 800).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30