Frog Migration - Steem Collaboration with @stickchumpion

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


My friend @stickchumpion sent me a drum loop to jam something over. The evil fiend failed to note the drum loop is in 7/8 time signature and subdivided in a strange way :)

I put on headphones and messed around on my guitar in DADEAD tuning (Dsus2) until I came up with a couple of riffs I liked. I also recorded a second guitar part.

The funny thing is I didn't actually come up with a 7/8 riff now that I am listening to it in the light of day I guess I just played a 4/4 riff over the top and the drums morph around beneath it. I slowed down the original beat a little bit to make the kick drum pitch match the low D on my guitar.


Frog Migration


Drums by @stickchumpion
Guitars by @carlgnash


► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


My own original 6 legged toad art

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey thanks C² love y'all :)

Wow beautiful drawing. I love it

Posted using Partiko Android

that 7 beat is a little unusual to count but you did a groovy job eyeball.. have a great week ;90

Thanks :) Yeah somewhere along the way I morphed back into playing in 4 on my guitar part. When I very first came up with that guitar part I was playing the rhythm differently and had fit the part into the 7/8 drum loop correctly. Looks like by the time I had recorded it (and smoked a few bowls) I just played in standard time over the top of the drums LOL

Hi @carlgnash!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.463 which ranks you at #594 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 598).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That's a nice little progression.
I can see what you mean about the drum loop, that 7/8 timing is a bit "odd".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76