Complacency Will Sabotage You! (Don't Get Comfortable)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Follow me on this thought process

When you are first born and you are experiencing all of these different situations for the first time such as your first time at the carnival, your first time riding a bike, your first time bowling, all these different firsts are happening and because you have never experienced them before it seemed like time went so slow! Remeber being a kid whishing you would be an adult already? It felt like it would neeeeevvveeeeerrrrrrr come and the reason why is because each day was a huge event, it never just passed by instantly.

I believe this is because we were experiencing these new novel things...As we turn to adults I think that novelty wears off because we have done everything before and we aren't experiencing new things. This leads to a routine/habit and busy work fills up our time, soon we see a whole month slip by and it seems like not much has changed! Think about the last time that happened to you, it's crazy right?

What if we started pushing ourselves not to be comfortable and instead we started doing things for the first time again, whether a hobby, sport or adventure - it will cause each day to be much longer because you have so much to do and you are learning in every minute...which gives each minute value. I think it's important to include things in your life that are long term goals that you can work towards but also novel new things you are excited about that you can progress in quickly and become excited about!

I'd love to hear your ideas on this my friends, this is a topic I've thought about many times and try to implement strongly into my own life!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

sadly there is no such thing as progressing comfortably in life

I think you're right! We need new experiences to keep life interesting. I think thats why they say traveling the world is one of the best things you can do with your time!

ABSOLUTELY and the more the better for our minds!

Agree completely. Keeping experiences fresh livens it up! Can be something as small as eating at a new spot, running a different route, or reading a different genre than you're accustomed to.

Great point, it doesn't have to be CRAZY things!

You've totally hit me on this, bro. I hadn't seen it this way. Since I started on steemit I've been pushing myself way above my limits, but I also need a rest and come back refreshed. I have already done this unconsciously and have definitely felt the effects of cooling off for a bit. I'm totally greatful to have found you. I was doodling when I listened to this. I think it will stay on my mind and I will try what you are saying.

About your trip and recording the podcasts from there.. wow.. all I can say is that I admire you for doing it. I hope I can get there some day soon. I will start listening to you! lol Thank you very much, buddy. Wish your wishes and dreams come true. Rock on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15