DRUM10 // Tribal Math FURY beat

in #drums7 years ago

Playing around with the most tribal drums. Tuned low and with a bedsheet slung over each one, just a totally dead thud every time you strike it.

You know that saying "don't hate the player, hate the game"? Yea, the drums are the "game" in this sense and the drummer is the player.

When the drums are so primal, a simple heavy beat can be pretty sick. But the challenge is - when in solo drum mode, even just for a quick Steemit shed clip, how to make it sound full? It's hard to get definition and variation in the musical ideas all by yourself with a kit like this.

Just at the beginning of these ideas, emerging from a new Walding Family tune I'm shedding this week...

Where you think I should take this... slower, faster, busier, simpler, etc??

Sort:  

I dig what ya got so far. You ever play for a band professionally?

What comes next in my imagination is a breakdown of sorts.

duh-do-bat-do-doo doo-doo-bat-doo-doo duh-boo-da-dat-doo-doo boot-do-dat-doo-d00 doo-doo-dat doo-doo-dat-dat-dat ... something like that :D

I've done a variety of professional music gigs yeah. Working right now on building my new band... I'll let you know if that breakdown gets used :-)

That's tasty. My only thoughts for where you could go with it would be more floor tom, and maybe a few triplets on the hi-hat here and there. A wee snare solo wouldn't sound too bad either, towards the end of the video it kind of sounds like it's building up to something like that.

I don't know though, I'm no drummer and I'd really need some time experimenting with the kit like that to see what sounds I'd like to hear more of, haha.

I don't know anything about the techniques of drumming but it's interesting to see how the sound is changed with the tuning and the bed-sheet. I like the earthy sound of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04