You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Moral Obligation"

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

I certainly think we have a moral obligation to try and leave things better than we found them. I like that last quote by Einstein you used.

I don't always get as socially engaged as I should. There are a lot of issues worthy of attention, far too many to meaningfully address unless that's all you do. So you you have to choose your battles.

Perhaps a bit selfishly, I tend to focus on the social issues that most directly affect my interests. They may not be the most important or most urgent issues, but they are the ones that catch my attention most often.

Ren and I are in love with our National Parks, and are very aware that we only get to enjoy them today, because of those who fought, and in many cases dedicated their lives to protecting them. We also feel our generation has to continue the work, to make sure oue descendants can enjoy them in years to come. Its not the most urgent social issue of our time, but its where our passion is.

Great post.

Scott

Sort:  

Oh yes, @xcountytravelers, you definitely have to choose your battles because the amount of problems we have are far too great. We all do our part and wherever our passions and knowledge are, that's where to put our energy rather than spread out thin amongst them all. It's better to fully know the topic at hand so you can educate and open the eyes of others as well as do your best work to improve the situation. My analogy anyway.

I definitely think our National Parks are important and a worthwhile social issue. They are worth protecting for sure. I have always supported this myself but I had some interesting experiences with conservancies that opened my eyes to putting my blind trust in those that masquerade as protectors, too. Perhaps a post for another time ;)

Thanks, Scott for your feedback and insights - enjoyed reading them.

Hope you and Ren enjoy your Monday - happy travels

Thanks

You certainly have to choose your allies wisely and with your eyes open.

You will always be more effective if you are passionate about what you are doing. Passion grabs people and makes them pay attention, more than a hundred reasoned arguments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63904.38
ETH 2638.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83