Dressage riders, officials and fans behaving badly. (Sorry for the rant!)

in #dressage7 years ago

FB_IMG_1517371736321.jpg (Totally unrelated pic...other than to say winter came back to NB today so I had too much time to ponder things I saw on the internet).

I Finally saw the live stream videos (https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1190525177749972&id=189192477883252) from the California dressage show that have caused such an uproar in the past week.

Part of me (the dressage enthusiast who considers this sport a fine art) was horrified that any rider (claiming amateur or pro) would try to ride an upper level test in competition while so poorly prepared, that any trainer would condone it, that any judge/steward would actually give a qualifying score (mind you that saint of a horse was doing it's best to look awesome despite the bad riding!) and not call out the rider for unacceptable behaviour in and out of the ring.

I'm embarrassed for this rider and her trainer/coach, but who I'm really embarrassed for are the officials at this competition. This wasn't someone showing their 1st intro test at a schooling show. This was an obviously well-trained horse with what I can only assume rich owner (given the quality of horse and the venue) competing on the world stage, breaking rules and abusing her horse. Those defending said-rider with the "if you have nothing nice to say be quiet" seem to be condoning flat-out abuse of an animal because she's an Amateur. I truly hope USEF, EC and FEI officials take note of this situation and educate/empower/encourage officials to eliminate and punish any competitor who breaks obvious rules against animal welfare. I've seen riders eliminated over too much "bling" in their turnout or forgetting to drop their schooling whip....yet this "ride" got a qualifying score (a terrible one, mind you, but it still counts). I'm hardly innocent in my own right (everyone has their moments where you cringe and apologize to your horse and everyone around you), but I'd like to think I've learned from past mistakes and improved as hopefully the rider and trainers in this situation will too.

Then I made the mistake of reading online comments, which in classic form got so nasty (including death threats) that livestreaming has been suspended. This makes me embarrassed for mankind.

The other part of me, who's a plus-sized, physically challenged amateur rider hoping to start showing my green-as-grass, self-trained homebred this year (i.e I'll be that AA in the ring showing intro just hoping my tests won't end in unplanned dismounts!) wonders if appearing with my horse in "public" is now worth it. Having been a bystander at these shows both big and small I've overheard the same nasty, snide comments live from the peanut gallery. When confronted the excuse is "well if they can't take the criticism then stay home!". Eventually many do stay home. Many will state time/finances, but I'd bet there are many like myself who are tired of trying so hard to get somewhere only to hear/read the nasty commentary from those who don't even try themselves. Who don't appreciate the daily struggle those of us "horse poor" amateurs go through just to go to a local show and try to have fun, hoping we don't look nearly as bad as we think we do (many a day I feel as useless in the saddle as that woman appeared in the video). Knowing those snide nasty comments are in my future isn't a big encouragement to try to get out there and support local shows at any level.

We as a community wonder why shows are so poorly attended, why the sport seems to be dying. To me it's pretty damn obvious. Some call it "critiquing" or "gossiping". When you're a kid in school it's called bullying. When you're an adult you're just being a jerk.

Stand up for what's right. Be kind and supportive. It's really not that hard and they're not mutually exclusive .

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48