You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Master Assassin

in #drawing6 years ago

In David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest there is a clan of French wheelchair assassins. The initiation rite is to play "Le Jeu du Prochain Train," which involves trying to be the last person to jump across the tracks in front of an oncoming train - hence all the leg-removing injuries. They strike horror into the hearts of several of the other characters, for whom the last thing they hear is the squeaky wheel of a chair.

It's a very clever book, although to be honest I only made it halfway through the 1600 pages.

Sort:  

Wow a wheelchair assassin clan? I would have never imagined such a creative idea in my mind. Thank you for telling me about the book, though I don't think I can read anything with 1600 pages. I haven't even finished War and Peace and I think that's the longest book I've read so far.

Well, the fun thing about Wallace is you can pretty much pick up and leave off wherever and still have a good experience. War and Peace, though, I suspect you have to read the whole thing. Good on you for giving it a shot. It's been on my "to read" list for years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79