Blast From the Past - My Old Art Books From High School (1965 - 1966) - Part 1

in #drawing6 years ago

I recently stumbled upon my old art books from high school (Tadcaster Grammar School, Yorkshire, England). I was about 14 - 15 years old at the time. I decided to scan the drawings with a brief description of each. There are some annotations by my art teacher(s) on some of the scans. These drawings bring back a lot of memories from over 50 years ago for me:

I was a soccer (football in England) fan, and supported Leeds United at the time:

Scan2.jpg

Self-portrait (OMG I was young back then!). I was a Beatles fan - hence the fringe:

Scan3.jpg

Still-life with my mother's purse and shopping:

Scan4.jpg

Telephone box (no cell phones back then!):

Scan5.jpg

House repairs:

Scan6.jpg

Brass kettle by the fire:

Scan7.jpg

My initials:

Scan9.jpg

Owl, fish and holly:

Scan10.jpg

Leaf (I think I got my interests in botany from drawing plants):

Scan12.jpg

Living room dresser, piano and violin:

Scan14.jpg

Living room armchair, fireplace and piano:

Scan15.jpg

Bread, butter, milk and jam:

Scan16.jpg

My first visit to an airport:

Scan17.jpg

Tea kettle:

Scan18.jpg

Tea cup and milk:

Scan19.jpg

Shoes, brush and polish:

Scan20.jpg

Sort:  

I've been doing exactly the same thing recently: Going through old storage and finding unexpected memorabilia.

I'm finding that retirement brings the opportunity to go through all the junk we have collected over the years. But sometimes you find interesting stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86